Parental Limbo and Christmas

December 3, 2013 § 3 Comments

bltree
Well, it’s certainly beginning to look a lot like Christmas around here. We’ve even had snow for a couple of weeks already. The last few years have seen us staying green well into December to the point of concern that we might not have a white Christmas. A definite must have up here in the Great White North.

So, the tree is up if not yet decorated (the pic is from last year).  Half of my shopping and wrapping is done and a third of my baking is already in the freezer. It’s been fun making the usual preparations, with one tiny drawback.

I’ve been doing most of this stuff either by myself or with other adults. The kids, well…25 and 18 hardly qualify anymore I suppose, are not the least bit interested in participating in all this Yuletidiness.

I really miss having little ones around to do this stuff with. The excitement, the chatter, the glitter, the mess, the giggles, the oohs and aahs. It really is not the same, as much as I love Hubby and my BFF, without the delightful queries of a child learning how to tie a bow, the observations of how making a hole at the top of a painted cardboard ornament is tricky and asking if they can use blue icing for the Santa’s hat sugar cookies that are finally cooled.  Well, of course you can!

So, I’m just drifting through parental limbo more observer than participant as my grown children start their journeys into young adulthood. Might I add, without nary a sign from either of them (both are happily single without much interest in dating) that there are any grandchildren in my near, or even distant, future.

Anyone got a pre-schooler I can borrow?

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Parental Limbo and Christmas

  • shadyladypdx says:

    Well, look at you go! As for me, Chanukah is already over (it was way too early this year!) so now I’m waiting for New Year’s Eve. We’ll keep all the Chanukah and wintry decorations up until then. I love all the festivity!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady. I’m feeling pretty good about how the preparations are going. Feel even better that my sister is hosting Christmas dinner this year. Awww, Chanukah is over already? Okay, well my holiday greeting will be especially late this year. Sorry. :P

    • shadyladypdx says:

      Yes, well, we’re not even sending cards this year. With Chanukah so early, I didn’t get to cards then and now, well, I’m just not feeling it. :-/

      But I do wish you the happiest and most beautiful and amazing holiday season!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Parental Limbo and Christmas at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

