Doing Nothing – Over Achiever Style

March 12, 2010 § 5 Comments

Though my shoulder is much better than it was last week, even earlier this week, I’m still in some pain during the day and a lot of pain at night.  Despite knowing that the advice to do as little as possible so as to not to strain or reinjure myself is sound, it’s very difficult to practice.

Doing nothing today has so far resulted in two loads of laundry, a stew simmering on the stove, a desk drawer cleaned out with the contents sorted into baskets and, of course, some absolutely necessary blogging.  😉

Hubby is going to kill me when he gets home…okay, not really but boy is he going to nag.

It’s just so hard to do nothing when there’s always so much to do.  It’s a lot easier to rest when I know I’ve at least gotten a few things done so I don’t feel like a total waste of space.

I’m not trying to be any kind of hero, honestly I’m not.  I’m really just trying to stay sane and fend off the increasing boredom that has taken over my life.

Besides, and I honestly didn’t think it was possible considering how much I love it, even I’m getting a little sick of the syropy, “I Love You, Pa” ‘s of Little House on the Prairie.

Maybe it’s time to start watching reruns of Hell’s Kitchen. If anyone can bring balance to Micheal Landon’s warm, good-nature manner, it’s definitely Gordon Ramsey.

Have a great weekend all!

§ 5 Responses to Doing Nothing – Over Achiever Style

  • MaryP says:

    I wondered why you’d started to use your real name, but it was only today that it occurred to me to follow the link … to your new blog!

    I understand your dilemma. Doing nothing is booooooring. But really, I can’t see that blgging should be putting much of a strain on a shoulder…

  • Sheri says:

    Mary – Hehe, I probably should have said something eh?

    You’re right…the blogging doesn’t actually put any strain on my shoulder but then my horrid posture while I’m at my computer likely isn’t helping either. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    I know all too well how boring it is doing nothing. The difference is that I didn’t have a choice. When I hurt my back last year any movement would send me into body wrenching back spasms.

    Heal!!

  • Cate says:

    I totally get your frustration. I don’t get the pain, but if I get really stuck into something, my head is spinning like I’m in the middle of the ocean, and I have to stop – so frustrating.

    Hang in there!

    Oh – and hubby has a job? Fantastic!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Wow, that sucks. My upper arm has been doing that spasm thing but I can’t imagine it being my back. Yikes.

    Cate – Still that vertigo? Jeepers creepers, what a high price to pay for merely watching a movie. And I’m hanging in.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Doing Nothing – Over Achiever Style at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

