Hard Choices

March 13, 2010 § 9 Comments

Hubby and I made a difficult decision recently that will greatly affect our upcoming summer.

There will be NO CAMPING for us this year.  It was a hard choice to make because Summer for us is all about the camping.  We’ve camped EVERY YEAR of the 16 we’ve been together.  It’s what we do.

From the long weekend in May right up until the middle of September is camping season here and we always tried to get out as often as we could manage it.  Sometimes we went even if it meant stretching the budget and last year we still went the weekend Hubby lost his job.

Whether we’ve been fortunate enough to have access to a cottage or even if we had to tent it, there was never a time when we would have considered NOT camping.  Until this year.

There’s just been so much insecurity this last year with Hubby being unemployed more often than not and so much work still needed on the house.  It just makes sense to stay home and put as much money, time and energy into the house as we possibly can.

As much sense as I know it makes, it still sucks big time.  And really, it’s not like we’ve decided to give it up altogether just this year.  But boy I can already tell how much I’m going to miss…

AND

AND

**SIGH**

§ 9 Responses to Hard Choices

  • Shady Lady says:

    I am not a camper…yet, but I have a question. Would it be completely ridiculous to go staycamping? At least you’d get to sleep in a tent and cook outside. Is it crazy? Just a thought from a total non-camper.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – It’s not ridiculous, just no feasible for us.

    Our yard just barely fits our tent for starters (and I mean by mere inches) so that makes it very difficult to get in and out of it, not to mention a royal pain to set up.

    And we can only cook on our BBQ outside, which is not really much of a novelty since we use it more than our oven in the summer time. It’s illegal for us to have open fires on our property because we live in a suburb.

    So no, it’s not crazy and in fact we used to set up a smaller tent in the yard for the kids to have sleepovers when they were younger and they’d roast hot dogs and marshmallows in the fireplace.

    But since we don’t “holiday” per se…we’ve never had a real vacation…for Hubby and I camping is how we get away from it all and it’s hard to do that in your own backyard.

    😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    Huh…for some reason I picture you living out in the country with lots of space around you. Funny how I got an idea like that into my head because in my head there is lots of room for you to camp. Maybe you could camp there…evidently my imagination is quite vivid. 😉

    Although I have not gone camping, it is something I really want to do. I’m hoping that we can next summer.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Hehe, perhaps it’s part of the mystique of being Canadian…wide open spaces and lots of wilderness to go around? Though we do have that, it’s just it’s at least an hour’s drive from here. 😉

    And I highly recommend camping, I hope you get to next year too.

    Lisa – Thanks for the sympathies. 🙂

  • Cate says:

    Bummer – but it’s only for a season, so keep focussed on the positives.

  • MrCrow says:

    If it will make you feel better, I can sit in a chair with a beer in my hand in the backyard all summer 😀

    Only after I finish building the deck though…

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Yep, trying to keep it all in perspective. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Bahaha, I’ll hold you to that my dear. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hard Choices at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

