March Break

March 15, 2010 § 5 Comments

It’s March Break here and though that really shouldn’t mean too much to us because we’re Unschoolers, it means a great deal to Daughter who gets to hang out with her friends who would normally be in school.

It was a full day for me with prepping for some crafty activities, picking up her friends (it’s the first time I’ve driven since I injured my shoulder 3 weeks ago), feeding the hoarde, on general Mom duty and then driving her friends home again.

I’m exhausted but I LOVED it!  It was a much needed fix of feeling needed and more importantly, useful.

It’s much better to ease into the reality that my kids are pretty much grown now and, for the most part, can manage their own lives.  I hate how cold turkey it’s been lately.  Especially with Hubby having been home for almost 2 months and sharing the parenting load.

It was so easy to feel like there was no longer a place for me.  Dramatic much?  But honestly, that’s how it FEELS no matter how irrational it is.

Anyway…Daughter is happy, I’m happy and Hubby’s on his way home from work.  I know I won’t get many more days like this so I’m going to savour this one like I would a BUENO chocolate bar.  Mmmmmmm…

§ 5 Responses to March Break

  • Shady Lady says:

    I just love days when I feel that good. 🙂 Yay for you!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks. Me too. With the pain and the not so sure of myself that I’ve been feeling lately, today was a nice reprieve.

    🙂

  • Cate says:

    Oh I’m so thrilled to read this , knowing EXACTY what you are going through. You’ve got to grab & savour every moment now hey?

    And I really appreciate what you wrote regarding the same topic on my blog.

    We soooo need a face to face catch up!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks. Yesterday felt really good, especially the appreciating it part. Imagine that I used to often whinge my way through days like that.

    You’re welcome, I’m glad…I did think that maybe I was a bit long winded.

    I couldn’t agree more. I really need to work on getting that passport. 🙂

  • MrCrow says:

    Step #1….Birth Certificate….;-)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading March Break at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

