I Hope It’s a Trend and Not a Fluke

March 17, 2010 § 9 Comments

Some of you may remember that back in December I was lamenting the lack of snow.  I deleted my old blog so I can’t link to the post but I did take this picture.

I was concerned we weren’t going to have any snow for Christmas but just shy of two weeks we got a boatload of the white fluffy stuff, much to my relief and the benefit of my Holiday spirit.

Since then we’ve had the mildest winter on record in about 65 years.  Temperatures have been up by an average of 10 degrees and snowfall has been minimum.  We had to shovel the driveway less than a handful of times.  Beauty, eh!

This morning I took this picture.

You could almost play Spot the Differences with these two pics.

Today will be the second day in a row where the temperature will reach a totally ridiculous for March high of 16 degrees C  (that’s 60.8 F for my American friends).

Winter traditionally lasts about 6 months here (often more but RARELY less than that).  This year though, we have had just 3 months of winter.  It’s mind boggling.  Of course, I’m not ruling out another round of snow sometime over the next couple of weeks but even if we do get some, it won’t last very long.

Anyway, it smells like Spring and it feels like Spring and it is GLORIOUS!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!   😀

§ 9 Responses to I Hope It’s a Trend and Not a Fluke

  • Shady Lady says:

    We’ve had a bizarre winter here as well. Not that we get a lot of snow, but our temperatures stay colder much longer than they did this year and we usually get a lot more rain. I have decided that we need a different groundhog on the left coast because we definitely did not get 6 more weeks of winter. Do you do the groundhog up in Canada?

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Indeed we do have Groundhog Day up here but no one takes it seriously. I live in the Ottawa Valley and the weather here is way too unpredictable for one poor little critter to foresee…I mean, even our educated meteorologists get it wrong 80% of the time. 😛

  • Cate says:

    Well we are experiencing drought-like conditions with our never-ending nice weather down here in Auckland. The temps have definitely dropped a bit, and it is darker of a morning (we really need daylight saving to end) – but we’ve not nearly the amount of rain needed, and being on tanks now, we have reached the stage where we are going to have to order a tank-load of water in – or do without flushing *eek!*

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Yikes. I still find it hard to wrap my mind around the fact that you are going into fall. We just turned our clocks forward this past weekend.

    And do without flushing??? *eek!* indeed. And I know that having to bring water in costs a pretty penny. A couple of years ago we had the pool liner replaced and we had to order water to fill it back up…that really was a dent in the budget.

    I really hope you get some rain soon. It must also be making your garden much harder to maintain.

  • Dana says:

    I think we stole your winter. Even though Spring is clearly in the air, the birds are singing and the grass is greening, there’s still a nip in the air that warns that snow isn’t impossible. We’re still running several degrees below average!

    Glad you’re enjoying some milder weather. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Dana – Well, as far as I’m concerned it’s not stealing if I feel that you’re totally welcome to it. But I definitely don’t wish cooler temps on you…especially with that huge garden you have tend. I hope it warms up soon for you.

    And thank you, I really am enjoying it. 🙂

  • MrCrow says:

    Mmmm….BBQ groundhog 😀

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Ewwwwww. 😀 You’re weird.

  • MrCrow says:

    Yes. Yes indeed, I am.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Hope It’s a Trend and Not a Fluke at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

