Sunday Share

March 21, 2010 § 7 Comments

Hat tip to Cate @ Moments of Whimsy for the invite to participate in her weekly Sunday Share.



Motherhood is not measured by the number of diapers you’ve changed, the hours you’ve laid awake or the rivers of tears you’ve wiped away but instead by the smiles you allow yourself to take credit for.

Every mother knows that mothering is, for the most part, a grueling and thankless 24/7 job that doesn’t come with benefits, vacation, bonuses or any other such perks.  Why do we do it?  Out of pure obligation?

Sure, but more than that what’s cuts us to the core, what defines us, is that we do it for the smiles.

From the first toothless grin that you know is just for you, and not just gas, a mother’s reward is to see her children smiling.  Whether it’s at her, someone else or the world at large, a smiling child is a mother’s “raison d’etre”.

§ 7 Responses to Sunday Share

  • Cate says:

    Oh too true! A simple smile from them can smooth away all of the previous grumpiness and head butting!

    Thanks so much for joining in & hope you don’t mind that I added your link to the linky box too so others would see you.

    C x

  • imoomie says:

    The joy makes it all worth it!

  • Shady Lady says:

    I never thought about it that way…but you are completely and totally correct! Excellent observation. =)

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks and yeah, that’s exactly what I mean. We could be having a total row and one little grin will diffuse the whole thing. Gratefully, it works both ways.

    And no, I don’t mind at all.

    The reason I haven’t done it myself is that new applications kind of scare me. I’m always afraid I’m going to do it wrong. Considering my many years of using a computer, I’m surprisingly inept when it comes to new technology.

    I gave up on Facebook, I don’t tweet, I don’t even know what flickr really is and I still get confused just changing the header on my blog. 😉

    Shady – Honestly, neither had I until I found that pic and remembered a conversation with a new Mom I had a couple of days ago. When I asked how things were going she said, “Well, I’m exhausted but when she smiles at me, it’s all worth it.”

    So, it was kind of a second hand observation. Still, thanks for the kind words. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    imoomie – Hi, welcome. Thanks for the comment and I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

  • patty says:

    visiting (late) from Cate’s!
    your post is so true… and that’s a sweet picture!

  • Sheri says:

    Patty – Thanks! I think so too. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Share at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

