The Procrastinator’s Best Defense

March 24, 2010 § 8 Comments

Is a list.

I LOVE lists.  Grocery lists, To Do lists, Wish lists…they all rock my world.

Because frankly, writing about something is way more fun than doing it.  That’s the writer in me.  I’d much rather muck around with words than to have to actually do the shopping, the chores and the saving up for.

And because I’m primarily a poet/lyricist type writer, I much prefer to write lists than say essays, short stories or even come close to finishing the novel I started almost 10 years ago.

For me, lists are congruous.  They harmonize the discord between my erratic thoughts and my impending actions.  They create a bridge between what I have to do and what I hope to do.  Of course, they don’t always cover the gap and often I end up falling into a stream of icky undoneness.

Nevertheless, I couldn’t exist without the hopeful magic that is the list.  When I’m writing a list I feel anything is possible and I feel a sense of accomplishment.  Albeit, it’s minute compared to just going ahead and doing what I’m writing the list for.

Baby steps I tell you.

One day I hope to not be such a vehement procrastinator.  But as long as I am, I’m sure glad I’m a master of the list.

§ 8 Responses to The Procrastinator’s Best Defense

  • Shady Lady says:

    You scared me for a minute! I thought to myself, “No! Not another thing in common!” But alas, we do differ slightly here.

    I love lists. I think the first thing the Lizard King learned about me was my love of lists. When anything is involved that goes beyond 2 things (items, to do, etc.) I start a list. This is probably because I forget things and without the list, I’d be lost.

    However, I do actually use my lists and find great joy and excitement at crossing things off. Currently, I’m updating my “Moving Checklist”. It’s not the checklist that’s moving. It is the checklist of all the (way too many) places I have to contact to change our address. Have I mentioned that I’m a tad bit anal? 😉

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Hehehe, I actually use my lists too…don’t get me wrong. And I do derive a lot of satisfaction from doing so.

    It’s just that I make way more lists than I could ever hope to complete. So, it may still be another thing we have in common. 😛

  • Cate says:

    Oh I do relate! I have so many lists which I take great time and pride creating – only to then get paralysed in the “doing”!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – I hear ya, if only the doing were as easy and as much fun as making the lists. 😉

  • I hate lists… with my entire being I hate lists. Sometimes I try making lists. Then I don’t use them. Then I lose them. Then I forget about them.

    My lovely Shady Lady has offered to help me creating lists to get more organized. But that would mean she would have to move in with me and constantly keep me glued to my list. And somehow I just don’t see that happening in the near future. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Freckles – Hehehe. I think lists are one of those things that you either love or hate. I know a few people who feel the same way you do. 🙂

  • Colleen says:

    I love lists, too! Mostly because I like to cross things off them. It’s so satisfying that sometimes I make lists after I’ve completed chores just so I can cross them off. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Colleen – Haha, I’ve done that myself. I’ll make an overall list of things that need to be done and include things that relate to it that I’ve already done just so I can check them off. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Procrastinator’s Best Defense at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

