It’s Early Spring Again

March 26, 2010 § 5 Comments

Last week’s beautiful and sunny 16 C  (60 F)  has fallen, with a vengeance, back to seasonal temperatures.  *SIGH*

It dropped down to -15 C  (5 F)  last night and is not expected to make it above zero today.  That’ll put a chill in your knickers for sure.  Not to mention make the body ripe to catch whatever nasty viruses that are circulating.  I’m so glad I hesitated when I thought of moving my clothes racks outside.

Underwearcicles anyone?

Other than that, things are going nicely.  My shoulder is a world better and aside from an occassional twinge, I’ve regained full range and mobility.  Thank God for small miracles.

Daughter starts a new class in a few weeks, Acting for T.V. and Film (following in Mom’s footsteps…too cool – let’s just hope she does more with it than I did – not that I didn’t love teaching) and she’s so keen.

It’s actually quite amazing to watch her perform.  You would never really know she had it in her if you’d never seen her in action.  Normally she comes across as being socially insecure and painfully shy and that wouldn’t necessarily be an inaccurate assessment.

But give her some lines to memorize, slap a costume or wig on her and boom she’s like Ethel Merman reborn…well, without the singing…that she’s still very shy about.  Still, the first time I saw her on stage in a full production I hardly recognized my own flesh and blood.

There she stood so confident and self-assured, belting out her lines perfectly to the very back of the room.  As her drama teacher I was impressed and even a little surprised (I honestly thought that despite how well she did in rehearsals that she’d choke come opening night – that’s not harsh, it’s reality because almost every kid I’ve ever taught did and only a handful didn’t), as her Mother I was as proud as punch and moved to tears.

Anyway, she’s excited and what’s more is that the timing and location of the class make it perfect for Hubby and I to have a date while she’s there.  So, for the next three months we’ll have a regular, weekly date night.

Yay!

Have a great weekend all!

§ 5 Responses to It’s Early Spring Again

  • Oh my, I used to love to act. I was in school plays, and might I add, I was hilarious. A born comedienne. Yeah, and then life sort of caught up with me. 😉 But being a homeschooling mommy is pretty darn awesome too. And my kids appreciate my comedic outbursts every now and then.

    I love that you write your temperatures in Celsius!!! I miss that.

  • Sheri says:

    Freckles – Me too, and I also prefer comedy to more dramatic roles. Making people laugh is the best. Yeah, I kind of gave it all up to be a full-time Mom but I really did enjoy teaching…which was kind of the best of both worlds.

    Hehe, yeah Canada went metric in the late 70’s. It wasn’t an easy transition though, I was in the 3rd grade and up until then we were taught imperial. Talk about confusing a generation of kids. Most people I know, my age and older, use a combination of the two.

  • Shady Lady says:

    How cool to watch your daughter perform!! And a date night to boot. It just doesn’t get better than that!

    They told us when I was a kid that one day we’d be switching to metric…I’m still waiting. I’m guessing it’s not actually going to happen.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – I agree, it’s a win-win situation.

    I didn’t know that, but I guess it makes sense because they were trying to globalize it. I suppose you guys just held out longer?

  • Hee, I have lived here for 10 years… I’m still having to convert the oven temperatures from C to F with a calculator, when I use German recipes. Let’s not even start with cm and inches. It’s driving me crazy. Whenever someone in Germany asks me how tall my children are I have to tell them I don’t know… I need my calculator. LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Early Spring Again at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

