Sunday Share

March 28, 2010 § 8 Comments

My contribution to Cate @ Moments of Whimsy ‘s weekly Sunday Share.

While Cate waxed poetic about the beauty of Autumn, because she’s on the other side of the globe in New Zealand, I’m here in Eastern Canada where we are experiencing a record breaking, way above seasonal temperatures, God-it’s-good-to-be-alive Spring.

And how am I celebrating this monumental occasion?  Well, after just basking in the warmth and reveling in the too much time on my hands, I’ve finally begun…


Spring Cleaning!

What?!  You don’t find spring cleaning inspirational?  Okay, honestly, I never used to either.  For most of my adult life I experienced it as a tedious chore.  I mean keeping house, especially once teenagers enter the picture, is an every day, ongoing, relentless and repetitive series of tasks.  And while not difficult, they are mind numbingly BORING!

Dishes, laundry, sweeping, vacuuming, dusting, picking up and putting away…need I go on?

But in the last couple of years I’ve begun to appreciate what a full on scrub down, a top to bottom de-webbing and an every room uncluttering can really do for your soul.

§ 8 Responses to Sunday Share

  • Cate says:

    Go you!

    I wouldn’t go so far as to say I “enjoy” it – but I’m the same. Come spring, I want to turn the house inside out and freshen it up.

    Thanks for sharing!

  • Shady Lady says:

    I haven’t had that feeling in a long time, but as we get closer to owning our own home, the excitement for cleaning is building. I even have a blog post planned around the subject.

  • imoomie says:

    Oh a woman after my own heart! Love spring cleaning!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks! Well, I don’t particularly “enjoy” the actual cleaning part but I get loads of satisfaction once it’s done and will purposefully walk in and out of rooms just to feel it. 😉

    Shady – I think it’s exciting to have a brand new house to clean. No worries about trying to manage a previous owners dirt and “fix ups”. 🙂

    Imoomie – Hehehe. Yep, throw open those doors and windows and give me a broom.

  • Kim says:

    The only thing I want to do in Spring is get outside. Rainy days are good for inside cleaning though and we seem to be having too many of those here in East Tennessee 😦
    Nice to meet you, stopped by via Cate’s blog hop.

  • Sheri says:

    Kim – Hiya! Nice too meet you too. Thanks for the comment. We’re getting a nice mix of rainy days and sunny days so I can’t complain. I hope you get more sunshine!

  • patty says:

    nothing like a good cleaning to wipe away the dust of season’s past… 🙂
    looking forward to it myself, as soon as this aweful tax season is gone!! 😮
    visiting from cate’s…

  • Sheri says:

    Patty – Yep, that’s how I feel. And I hear ya about the taxes, been scrambling the last couple of days to get all our paper work in order.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Share at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

