Toiling, Taxes and Tired

March 29, 2010 § 8 Comments

First, I’ve been toiling in the fireplace room (it’s probably simpler to call it a den but our kids had no idea what that was when we bought the house so when referencing it that’s just what we called it and it stuck) getting ready to deconstruct it.

I’ve got a corner yet to clean out, paneling to remove, a wall to assess and maybe replace, a hole to fix, nail holes to fill, paint to apply and a carpet to clean.  But true to form, I have a list…

And yes, I did the list AFTER I finished the first four things on it just so I could cross them off.  ( 😉  Colleen)  Anyway, I’m hoping to have it all done by the end of April.  Wish me luck!

Next it’s taxes…I’m tempted to whinge a little here but I won’t.  Despite what a pain it is to look for, sort through and organize our receipts, we do have an accountant friend who does our taxes for free.  Still, I spent the better part of the morning just organizing our shopping tickets.

Tomorrow it’s the big stuff like T4’s, charitable contributions, investments and contracted repairs and upgrades.  Yeah, being a grown up is so coooool.  (sigh)

Finally, it’s tired.  And no I don’t mean me, I’m actually doing quite well on the energy level front.  But I suppose being laid up and bored out of your mind for nearly a month will do that to a person.  I’m talking about Rosie…

I caught her in mid-stretch.  She was  sleeping soundly until I walked up to her and pointed my camera at her.  Poor thing was stuck outside all night in the rain.  She didn’t come in when Hubby shouted last call around 11:00 pm.  She must have been counting on me having a bout of insomnia and checking the door at 2:00 am.

Too bad for her I slept soundly through the night.

§ 8 Responses to Toiling, Taxes and Tired

  • Cate says:

    Go you – it’s tax time here too and although we’ve managed to unpack furniture and now books – the paperwork side of things is all over the show. We’ve already had one game of find that docket” that had us verging on the old road to divorce 😉

    Want to come & sort my stuff next? Please????

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – The shopping receipts were the easy part, I have no doubt that at minimum a quarrel will break out when we start looking for the “important” papers. “I thought YOU put them…”

    And thanks, but NO! 😛

  • Lisa says:

    Good luck with it all!!!

  • Love the cat… and well, hang in there. 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    Awwww….poor kitty!

    I like your list. It’s so neat and orderly. You’re so cool.

    As for the taxes, the IRS, taxes and anything in that category freaks me the heck out! The Lizard King won’t let me near any of it anymore. I swear, I start to hyperventilate at the mention of it. Really, I do!! Okay, going to breathe in a paper bag now.

  • Sheri says:

    Lisa – Thanks! Knowing me and my “good intentions”, I’ll need all the luck I can get. 😉

    Freckles – Yeah, we love her too. And thanks, I’m doing my best. 🙂

    Shady – Poor kitty…I know. But it’s her own fault really, last call is a tradition that she’s fully aware of.

    I like my list too, thank God for printers.

    And taxes used to freak me out too and for the first decade of our marriage I’d have nothing to do with them. But when I started finding 2 and 3 year old receipts that never got submitted I decided to get more involved.

    😛

  • jacquelinemichelle says:

    I’m doing my taxes on Friday – partyyyy.

  • Sheri says:

    JM – Woot!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Toiling, Taxes and Tired at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

