Worrying About Weight

March 31, 2010 § 5 Comments

This is a heady post for me and one of those that I’m tempted to delete before I even get started.

But what keeps me writing is that I know I am not alone in this issue.  This is for anyone who has struggled with their own weight issues (over or under) and have children currently dealing with them.

For a little perspective…here is a picture that best reflects what I look like now.

This was taken last May so it’s about a year old.  Add a little bit under the chin and few inches to the hair and that’s what I look like today.  Sure, I won’t win any beauty contests but I’m still kinda cute.

Here’s what I looked like in 2003 and I’m not proud of it so please be kind…

and

Egads!  Emaciated only begins to describe it and the worst part is, at the time, I really didn’t see it.

You know, for a long time I resented my sister for saying, “You look like you have aids.”  And though she could have been more tactful, in reality, she wasn’t so far off the mark to suggest I looked like I had some life threatening disease.

It wasn’t until I stepped on a scale and noticed I weighed only 108 lbs that I thought twice about it.  I weighed 112 when I was a scrawny 14 year old.  I weighed between 128 – 134 consistently my entire adult life, even after two pregnancies.

I never had to worry about my weight until then.  I readily bounced back to my regular figure and weight after both of my kids without any effort.  So what caused the drastic weight loss?  The only thing that comes to mind is that I got braces and ate much less.

The truth is, I’m not sure what happened but after the braces came off  it wasn’t long before I put the weight back on and then some.  And now 7 years later, I could stand to lose a few (or twenty) pounds.

The point is, I have a daughter who is struggling with her own weight issues and I worry that my fretting over a few extra pounds might contribute to an unhealthy example.  And looking at pictures like that last one, I’m beginning to question whether or not I have set a good example thus far.

What I’ve tried to emphasize over the years is the importance of a healthy diet, regular exercise and investing in developing your mind and your soul.

I just want to be able to walk my talk so I help, rather than hinder, my daughter’s progress.

§ 5 Responses to Worrying About Weight

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’m not sure what words would be most helpful. I can tell you what I try to do, but Princess is only 6 so who knows if it’s working.

    I don’t talk about weight at all and yes, it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world if I lost 10 pounds. Still, it isn’t a subject I discuss around Princess ever.

    I do talk about eating whole foods, avoiding processed foods, avoiding low fat/fat free foods, and making healthy choices, not with regard to weight, but just living a healthy life. Eating a traditional diet (http://www.westonaprice.org/) has helped me lose about 10 pounds without even trying. If I got up off my ass I could probably knock of the last 10, but that hasn’t happened.

    When I do exercise, I talk about how moving is good for your body, your heart, your bones and your muscles. It makes you strong. Again, I don’t talk about weight.

    I don’t know if any of this will help you at all. You may do all of it already. I just thought I’d share what I do…and I do hope it helps.

  • MrCrow says:

    I still think yer a hottie 😀

  • Lisa says:

    I talk weight a lot with Andrew. And I do think it’s a little different with boys, I gotta say.

    Like Shady, we talk about good food, exercise, and health.

    Unlike Shady, I talk about how eating junk makes you unhealthy and possibly overweight. I have a LOT to lose nd have been heavy most of my adult life. I want Andrew to understand how my poor eating choices have led to that.

    It’s such a struggle, we just do the best we can.

  • Yep, that’s my subject right there. I have been a yo-yo dieter for over half my life. Up, down, up, down. I have made a lot of healthy choices, and like Shady Lady I’m avoiding low fat foods, anything over-processed, and I drink lots of water. And now that I’m training for my half marathon I actually lost 5lbs without trying. I’m also less hungry.

    My kids are 9 and 7. Blue Eyed Boy eats like a machine, anything you put in front of him, and we talk about the importance of good choices. He doesn’t really care yet. Toothless Fairy is quite aware of what goes into her body, and she reads food labels. She is very concerned about eating healthy foods, and sometimes I wonder if it’s too much.

    Ugh, I’m rambling and don’t really have a good message, do I?

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – It does help thank you. And thanks for the link, I’ll check it out.

    Lisa – Thanks for sharing that. It is such a struggle, especially in today’s “size zero” culture. (Like really, WTF is that?) 😀

    Freckles – Ramble away my dear. I think it’s great you’re running a marathon, sounds like such a great way to get in shape. Emma used to read labels too, concerned about refined sugar and aspartame. She does it less now but I’d rather she be interested than oblivious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Worrying About Weight at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

