Sunday Share – Happy Easter

April 4, 2010 § 4 Comments

This is my contribution to this week’s Sunday Share hosted by the lovely Cate @ Moments of Whimsy.

This was Easter Sunday morning 2002.  Daugther is reading her first clue that set her off on her traditional Easter treasure hunt.  I’m not sure where I got the idea but when my kids were about 3 and 10, I decided that instead of just the usual “I hide eggs, you find ’em”, I would do something a little more challenging.

I bought two packs of those plastic egg holder thingys, made up clues based on each child’s reading comprehension skills (the first two years we did this with Daughter I just drew pictures of where I hid the next egg) popped the piece of paper and some jelly beans or bit of candy inside and then referred to my “map” to make sure I hid the right egg in the right place.

The final prize was usually just a chocolate treat as the Easter Bunny always left their Spring baskets in plain sight. The thrill though was always in finding the next clue and deciphering it.  The smiles on their faces when they read their clues and knew where to look next were priceless.

Whatever your traditions are, may they bring the joy and the promise that is intended from the season and the true meaning of Easter…which to me, is HOPE.

§ 4 Responses to Sunday Share – Happy Easter

  • Lisa says:

    A great tradition! Happy Easter.

  • Shady Lady says:

    What a fun tradition! Princess told me she wanted to go on an Easter egg hunt this year. I was going to try to put one together, but her request was very last minute. I have some plastic eggs somewhere…but I don’t know where. I hope she’ll just forget about it. 😉

  • Cate says:

    What a gorgeous photo – and what a fun mum you are 🙂

    You won’t believe this – 17 year old daughter still wanted an Easter egg hunt this year, so I threw a heap around her room then watched her turn it upside down giggling all the way 🙂

    Have a blessed Easter my friend xx

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Ladies! It was a fun tradition that I’m kind of sorry that my kids have grown out of.

    Hope everyone had a great Easter weekend.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Share – Happy Easter at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

