Riding the Current – Part One

April 6, 2010 § 5 Comments

I like outdoorsy type metaphors…can you tell?  Must be the canoe loving, rapid maneuvering (and yes, I’ve actually traversed real rapids on the Big Fork river in Minnesota), nature lover in me.

Anyway…

Since I’ve taken up the paddle and rested it on my lap, meaning that I’ve been less of a control freak and just letting things happen, I’m noticing that things are much better than I thought they were.

Hubby and I are getting along famously…sometimes it even feels like we’re dating again, in that we actually listen to what the other is saying.  Anyone married more than five years knows exactly what I mean by that.  😉

We’re agreeing about how to handle the upcoming mortgage renewal while facing the reality of our “income” situation.  The fact that we’re not bickering speaks volumes about how far we’ve come as grown ups and as a married couple.

Son is still on his own and has a new job, much to our parental relief.  We’ve recently had cause for concern about his choices and were on the ready to evaluate the situation when Son got himself back on track.

Maybe the idea of having to move back in with his parents scared him more than it did us?  In which case, I consider that a victory.  😀

§ 5 Responses to Riding the Current – Part One

  • MrCrow says:

    Married couple sure….a grown-up? Never!

    😀

  • Cate says:

    Well done you & hubby….and what a relief re son. I know that he has been weighing on your mind for a while.

    *phew*

  • Shady Lady says:

    I really like this post. So glad you’ve relaxed and are going with the flow. It’s so much easier and more natural that way, isn’t it?! Your husband so reminds me of mine…cracks me up. 😛 Happy that son found a job, too. All good things!!

  • Lisa says:

    I envy the no bickering – that’s the only kind speaking we’ve done lately and we’re both about ready to take an extended vacation from each other! 😉

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Hehe, yes I realize how resistant you are to the idea but I think maybe it’s time you accept it. 😉

    Cate – Thanks. And yes, it is a relief. It’s difficult to watch your adult child struggle and not be sure what to do.

    Shady – Thank you. It is easier to just go with the flow than trying to direct it. Knowing how much alike you and I are, it doesn’t surprise me that MrCrow and the Lizard King also have similar traits. Yep, it’s all good.

    Lisa – Honestly, the no bickering is a new thing for us. We spent most of our marriage disagreeing about everything. I often wonder how we made it through some of the tougher years.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Riding the Current – Part One at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

