The Adventures of Pin Pig – Part One

April 7, 2010 § 6 Comments

Meet Pin Pig…


I made Pin Pig about 3 years ago after going through some of Daughter’s stuffed animals and finding this little fellow at the bottom of a toy chest.  When I asked her if I could have him explaining what I wanted to do with him, she rolled her eyes and said, “Sure, whatever Mom.”

Clearly she had yet to fully grasp the awesome nature of her Mother’s creative spirit.  I mean seriously, isn’t that cute AND clever?

Anyway, today Pin Pig and I embarked on a sewing project to turn the lovely fabric I bought yesterday into a full length chemise perfect for…well, for wearing really.  I mean, what else am I going to do with it?


Here’s Pin Pig going over the fabric, patterns and tools with me to make sure I didn’t forget anything.  What he is less concerned about, as am I, is whether I stick to the actual pattern.  As evidenced by the following pics…


The pattern I’m using is actually for a blouse. But not one to be hindered by the constraints an outline, I forged ahead  and cut the fabric to the proportions I wanted.  I will advise that I’ve been doing this for over a decade and have a pretty good idea what I’m doing.  I wouldn’t recommend such reckless abandon of the rules for a beginner.


I did it again with the sleeve, this time actually cutting the pattern itself to make it narrower and then disregarding the cut off point to make it longer.  Aren’t I such a rebel?

So after doing all the necessary prep work, Pin Pig and I got down to actually putting some stitches in the fabric.


I got the shoulder seams done and was about to attach the sleeves when Pin Pig pointed out…


…that on a narrow sleeve it’s much easier to hem it BEFORE attaching it.  He’s such a task master.

Tomorrow we do up the side seams, finish up the collar and then find someone willing to model the finished product for the blog.

🙂

§ 6 Responses to The Adventures of Pin Pig – Part One

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Adventures of Pin Pig – Part One at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

