A Few Random Thoughts

April 12, 2010 § 6 Comments

Taking an idea from Such Lovely Freckles, I’ve decided to write a short list of random thoughts that have passed through my head today instead of extrapolating on any particular one.

1. I AM a morning person! At 38 years old, this is a surprise to me.  I spent most of my life dreading mornings but I just realized now that that’s because I spent most of my life as a Mom.  Mornings for me were always an endless rush of doing things for other people.  Now that my mornings aren’t so rushed and I can do what I want instead of what I have to, I’m starting to notice how much more I’m enjoying them.

2. I’m still fawning over our newly painted garage door.  Everytime I look at it, I’m taken aback by how much better it looks and by how easy it was.  I can’t wait for two nice days in a row and Hubby being home to coincide so we can finish the trim, do the framing around the bay window and paint the shutters.  And yes, Hubby HAS to be home because I don’t do ladders.

3. Daughter turns 15 this year and we’ve been homeschooling/unschooling for over 3 years now.  I’m finding the closer it gets to her birthday the more at odds with myself I become about our approach.  It’s not doubt so much as it is wondering if we should be doing more. Then I find myself wondering if this is really about our educational choices or if it’s about parenting in general.   Do other unschoolers get more concerned the older their children get?

4. I remember how disappointed I was when the seeds we planted last year didn’t grow. Of course the disappointment was mostly in myself because I didn’t care for the garden properly.  We spent almost the entire month of June camping and hardly watered it.  Nonetheless, some of the seeds survived and have started sprouting.  Neat!

That’s it I guess…there could be more but right now I want to play some Sims.  My character is on the verge of a love affair while at the same time only one charisma and two good friends away from a promotion.   😀

§ 6 Responses to A Few Random Thoughts

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’m a morning person, too…sort of. I get up pretty early, but I don’t get moving or dressed for that matter. I clean up the kitchen, take care of business online, eat breakfast, do laundry, whatever…but it takes me forever to get myself showered and dressed. So does that count as being a morning person?

    Isn’t it amazing what a fresh coat of paint can do?!

    I think every unschooler questions things, whether their child is 6, 10 or 15. It helps me to talk with other unschoolers who have been doing this a while or read some unschooling books. Of course, I also tried being more schooly for about a year before I realized that Princess was learning a lot more NOT doing school work. 😉

    Yay for sprouting seeds!! We’ll be holding off on gardening until next year.

    I’ve never played the Sims, but I am intrigued. Do you have any recommendations? Do you play on the Wii or another platform? Okay, I’ve rambled enough now. I’ll let you go. Have a lovely day!! 😉

  • Cate says:

    I’m only a morning person when I have to be. My body-clock is very much to the night-owl end of the spectrum.

    Anyhow, I think every homeschooler with kids in their late teens starts to panic a bit. Have we done enough? Covered enough? Will they be able to get the university entrance/ job that they want? Will they survive in the world?

    All part of the journey I think & looking to those who have gone before is probably the the most encouraging thing to do.

    Hang in there!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Yes, I think that counts. At least I hope it does because I’m still in my jammies and it’s almost 11:30 am. 😉

    Thanks for the words of support. I know I have some John Holt around here somewhere that I can revisit. That always makes me feel better.

    The Sims is great. I play the original version on my PC. There’s been a couple of updgrades, Sims2 and Sims3. I’ve tried Sims2 but found it too complicated and have never even bothered with 3.

    It’s basically a role playing game that’s set in the modern world. You start with a basic income and get to purchase either an existing house or piece of land.

    Once you’ve moved in you have to get a job, make friends, increase a series of character related objectives and maintain a healthy mood.

    You know, all the stuff I really suck at in real life. 😀

    No really, it’s a lot of fun and I enjoy it. It’s my version of World of Warcraft.

    Cate – Does insomnia count as night owl? Because there’s plenty of nights I’m awake at 2:00 am but I don’t enjoy that…all I want to do is sleep.

    Yep, exactly the questions I’ve been asking myself. You’d think having one already out in the world might make this a little easier. It doesn’t. In fact, it makes it harder. sigh

    Thanks. I will heed your advice. 🙂

  • Lisa says:

    Oooh, an online love affair, ‘eh? Good luck with that. 😉

    I’m impressed with the garage door painting! We never tried painting anything on the outside of our house – it was always too intimidating for some reason.

    I seem to go from morning to night person in cycles. I just hate waking up with an alarm clock – that irritates me. I may not be up a lot earlier than I normally would be, but the unnatural awakening pisses me off.

  • Sheri says:

    Lisa – Bahahaha…no, not online…in game. Big difference. The person playing the potential lover is actually one of MY other characters. I’m basically having a love affair with myself…oh god.

    And actually, I totally get that. I’d much rather wake up at 7:00 am when I don’t have to be up than to be woken up at 8 by an alarm.

    I think it’s the rebel in us. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’m sorry, but what’s an alarm? 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Few Random Thoughts at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

