Foot In Mouth Syndrome

April 15, 2010 § 5 Comments

It’s certainly not the first time and, unless I give up blogging altogether, I’m sure it won’t be the last time I make a comment on someone’s blog that is interpreted as a criticism of either the author or the topic of their post.

The truth is, I’m not very politically correct and often don’t bother censoring myself when I’m merely expressing my thoughts on a subject.  But I’m learning that sometimes there’s a fine line between simply expressing your thoughts and missing the point.

Yesterday, I expressed my opinion without realizing that what I wrote could be taken as a criticism.  I woke up this morning to find that I had indeed completely missed the point and my comment was, as a result, viewed as critical.

And this is what I hate about blogging.  It’s the only thing really because for the most part blogging has been a wonderful experience and I’ve made friends all over the world that I would have otherwise never had the opportunity to get to know.

Still, even with all the emotes and smiley faces, words in text form can so easily be misinterpreted and misunderstood.  It can make expressing a simple opinion seem like an all out attack on someone else or their ideas even when that’s the furthest thing from your mind.

I just feel so badly that I made someone think I was criticizing them or their post when I was just expressing my thoughts.  Should it even bother me when I know my own intentions?

Perhaps not, but it still does.  I’m starting to question whether or not I’m the kind of person I think I am or maybe I’m deluding myself.  Maybe I really am a bitch in “nice girl” clothing.  I’m beginning to doubt that I should even be blogging at all.  And all that is what makes me, well…me.

Neurotic and insecure, yes definitely!  Critical and intolerant, I really don’t like thinking of myself that way.

Something for me to chew on over the weekend.

§ 5 Responses to Foot In Mouth Syndrome

  • Lisa says:

    What the heck did you say?? I’ve never gotten a whiff of intolerant or critical from you – and I seriously doubt you’re a bitch in ‘nice girl clothing’. I’ve never seen a sign of it in the last couple of years. (Wow, has it been that long?)

    I get the insecurity. I agonize about how I’m phrasing things sometimes, worried it will be misinterpreted. Worried that something I’m blogging someone will misunderstand. Worried that someone will be offended, upset, angry, think I’m an idiot. This list goes on and on.

    Don’t stop blogging – it happens. Apologize for the misunderstanding, and try to forget it. You know what you meant, all you can do is try explain it to the person who didn’t. 😉

  • Sheri says:

    Lisa – Have I told you lately how much I love you? Thank you so much. And yes, it’s been a couple of years now. 🙂

    I’ve already apologized for the misunderstanding and explained my perspective. I’m not really worried about that.

    It’s really about how I present myself and how lately I’m finding myself to be a living contradiction.

    I think I’ll have to expand this into its own post.

  • Lisa says:

    Nope, you haven’t expressed your love lately. I love you, too! 🙂 I’ll wait to read your post. And most of us are living contradictions! 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    Oh my goodness!! You are hands down one of the nicest, kindest, most understanding people I have ever not met (or met for that matter). We all say things that we mean one way and come out another or are simply taken the wrong way. I think that it is just part of being imperfect humans. Please relax and don’t worry. The fact that you thought about it and took steps to fix any hurt feelings in itself makes you a kind and good person. Still…bitch in nice girl clothing makes me giggle… ;P

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thank you so much. Your words really mean a lot to me. I think of you in kind. 🙂

    The thing about me is, I tend to worry about nothing when I have nothing to worry to about. I’m working on it. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Foot In Mouth Syndrome at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

