The Great Unschool Debate – My Two Cents

April 22, 2010 § 7 Comments

If you read this blog then you’ve already heard about, likely watched the relevant clips and maybe even made a comment or two of your own about the recent GMA segment on Unschooling.  (This link is actually to the follow up segment – the original clip is already all over the place.)

Anyway, I’m not going to comment on the obvious bias nature of the report, enough has been said about that.

What I’m mostly bothered by is the sheer lack of humanity from some of the commenters.  My heart was sickened by the vile, rude and slanderous remarks by people who clearly had a lack of understanding of the issue.

Why do people have to react with such venom to something that is merely different from what they’re used to?  Are people who want to live their lives outside the box and are willing to take full responsibility for the consequences really that much of a threat?

It really never occurred to me that we were.  I mean, I know it made some of our family uncomfortable that we pulled our daughter out of school and that we supported our son’s decision to drop out of high school.

We did what we thought was best for our kids and over the years our family has come to see that.  The proof for them has been the drastic positive changes in our children, in our general family life and even in our marriage.

It has nothing to do with any desire to snub my nose at public education or that I think people who send their children to school are bad parents.

I sent both my kids to school and if they had been happy there, I wouldn’t have thought twice about it. But they weren’t happy there.  They weren’t thriving.  And the more I tried to work with the system and be involved the more the administration tried to shut me out.  These were MY children and their teachers were telling me that I cared too much.

Really?  How can a parent care too much about the well being of their children?  Would they seriously rather I didn’t give a shit that my kids were unhappy?

The bottom line for me, as a parent, was that my children were very unhappy and I could do something about it.  So I did it and I take full responsibility.  Why would anyone have a problem with that?

What really got my hackles up today was reading a comment that started:

“Unschooling is such a disservice to children.”

and ended:

“Jesus, there are some retards in the world.”   (Yes, but he loves you anyway.  Sorry, but it had to be said.)

I didn’t respond directly to the commenter because 1) It was on someone else’s blog and I didn’t want to be rude and 2) I was too pissed off at the time and I didn’t want to be rude.

Anyway, I just want to say in rebuttal, if you don’t even know me and say that I’m doing a disservice to my children, that just speaks volumes more about your narrow mind than it ever could about our alternative choices.

Read a book, check out a blog or two and ask questions if you don’t understand.  But don’t go and spew hatred out of ignorance just because you can.  You aren’t doing yourself or your argument any favours.

§ 7 Responses to The Great Unschool Debate – My Two Cents

  • Shady Lady says:

    So very well said, Sheri!! Some people just irritate me. The “news pieces” they did irritated me. Joy Behar did a pretty good interview. Did you see it. It was definitely the best of the bunch.

  • Shady Lady says:

    Okay, I’m obviously tired. Please ignore my typos above. 😉

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks. Yeah, I don’t have patience for people like that. Actually no, honestly I can’t stand the woman at all and have no interest in listening to her voice. 🙂

    And you know, I didn’t even notice your typo and had to reread what you wrote several times before I could pick it out.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Okay, I went and watched the Joy Behar interview and you’re right, it was much better.

    I honestly believed she would be snarky and dismissive but she wasn’t. She seemed genuinely curious and open minded.

    Thanks for suggesting it.

  • Shady Lady says:

    Glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂

  • Dana says:

    Yes, the comments on these kinds of things can get really nasty. I try to pass it off to the anonymity of the internet, but can’t help but somewhat snarkily think that if that is the behavior public school socialization brings about, I prefer nothing to do with it. 🙂

    Nice face lift on your blog, too. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Dana! And I agree with you wholeheartedly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Great Unschool Debate – My Two Cents at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

