Daddy

April 26, 2010 § 4 Comments

We’ve never held you to your name
We’ve never made you feel ashamed

Even when we should have
Even when you deserved it

We’ve always turned the other cheek
We’ve always been the ones to seek

The best of all your offerings

And now we must defer to you
Knowing that the best you will do

Is to make excuses and light hearted gestures

Daddy if ever we’ve needed someone to take the reigns
Daddy if ever we’ve needed someone to stand up for us

Please don’t make excuses and light hearted gestures
Please don’t make us feel we’re only here to pester

We’ve never before thought of holding you to your name
We’ve never before thought of making you feel ashamed

Even when we should have
Even when you deserved it

But we, if anyone, are owed
The best of all your offerings

§ 4 Responses to Daddy

  • Shady Lady says:

    This makes my heart hurt. I wish family was easier… (((hugs))) to you.

  • Sheri says:

    Awww, well I didn’t mean to do that. It’s a poem I wrote a couple of years ago and I just found it yesterday. Yeah, I wish family was easier too.

    Thanks, and hugs back atcha. 🙂

  • jacquelinemichelle says:

    I am so glad I didn’t read this the other night when I was overtired & emotional because I’d be like, dying right now, haha. Crying, at least.

    Your poems are so good.

  • Sheri says:

    JM – Thanks. I guess it is a pretty heavy poem. Sometimes that gets lost on me because they’re so personal.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daddy at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

