My Garden So Far

April 26, 2010 § 8 Comments

Dana @ Roscommon Acres invited folks to link to her recent garden post with one of our own.  Since I missed this week’s Sunday Share with Cate @ Moments of Whimsy, I thought I’d link this post to both of theirs.

Before you go thinking I’ve got some kind of miracle green thumb, this is a picture of our garden from early summer 2008.  There’s no possible way I could get something that looks that gorgeous so early in the year.  I just wanted to give you an idea of what I’m going for.

This is what I’ve got now…

a very dry bed with lots of weed both in and out of it.  I’ve certainly got my work cut out for me.  And if this morning was any indication, I was ready to give up after only 10 minutes, I just may not be the gardening type.

On the bright side though, last year’s garden disaster wasn’t a total loss and did yeild a few very stubborn and resiliant green onions.

Gives me some hope for this year and I’m not giving up.  Growing a vegetable garden is a lot of work but if you can hang in there, the rewards are immeasurable.  Kind of like life.   🙂

§ 8 Responses to My Garden So Far

  • Dana says:

    Well, I wish you the best of luck with your gardening endeavor! I’ve heard some people just put newspaper over where they want to plant with compost on top of that and start planting.

    Onions were the one thing that didn’t seem to ever survive my husband’s help in the garden. He is much more diligent about weeding than I, but couldn’t tell the difference between the onions and the grass!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Dana. That’s a very interesting idea, I’m going to mention it to Hubby. I’d like to try it.

    Actually, just this morning Daughter was helping me weed and when she asked about some long thin blades I told her it was just grass and to go ahead.

    She pulled out an onion and held it up to me with an “oh really?” look on her face. That’ll learn me to think I know everything.

    🙂

    • Dana says:

      Ha! I used to stand looking at all the little sprouts trying to make sense of those little sketches on the back of the seed packs. Generally, I just had to let it go to see whether it produced any veggies to know what was a weed and what wasn’t. Usually, the weeds won out before the veggies had a chance!

      If you do a search for “lasagna gardening” you’ll find a ton of information on the whole layering on top of the weeds thing. 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    Wishing you lots of growing in your garden this year! Maybe the onions are a lucky sign?! And sheesh! I thought you know everything. 😉

  • Cate says:

    I’ve got a massive patch of cracked, dry clods of mud that I also need to do something with…..almost too overwhelming!

    Looking forward to your “after” pic! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – Thanks much and I’m taking the onions as a good sign. 🙂

    Cate – That would be overwhelming, especially with everything else you got going on. 🙂

  • Lisa says:

    We did the raised beds this year – after the initial investment, well worth it. So much easier to plant, and NO WEEDS!!! 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Lisa – Congrats, I know they are a lot of work to get going but I’ve seen the results at friends’ places and have been envious. Unfortunately that tiny strip of garden is all we can manage with our limited space.

    Still it’s better than no garden at all. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Garden So Far at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

