Garden 2.0

May 1, 2010 § 5 Comments

Despite last year’s dismal gardening venture we are determined to do much better this time around.

After weeding and turning the bed earlier in the week, we went out this morning and got some compost/soil, seeds and a couple of already started cabbages.

Don’t worry, Hubby is going to cut the chicken wire around the cabbages.  😉  Right now though, it’s our best defense against the cats deciding that we created an outdoor litter box just for them.

We’ve planted some cucumbers and green beans, both of which we know will grow well.  We’re also going to try our hand at some spinach, carrots and radish.  We’ve also left some room for the tomato plants that we’ll buy in a couple of weeks.

I’m really excited now and can’t wait to watch and help all those veggies grow.  And then eat them of course…mmmm.

§ 5 Responses to Garden 2.0

  • jacquelinemichelle says:

    I wish I had a garden. I’ll just have to settle for some flowers for my balcony.

    Anyway, yours is looking good 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    So exciting!! I love watching a garden grow…now that actual gardening part, well, not so much.

  • Sheri says:

    JM – It actually doesn’t take much to grow some veggies. The first year Daughter and I tried it we just grew some beans in a old plastic container. It worked fine. Thanks.

    Shady – It is! I don’t like weeding but the rest of it I find really enjoyable.

  • Cate says:

    Wow – you are already ahead of us. We still are looking at the a big patch of lumpy clay waiting for us to break it up and get planting. Been slightly distracted with chicken coops….

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – I may be a few weeks ahead in the garden, you are still years ahead of me with the chicken coop. I’m green with envy. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garden 2.0 at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

