Sunday’s Share – Living Large

May 2, 2010 § 7 Comments

It’s time for another Sunday’s Share hosted by Cate @ Moments of Whimsy.  I borrowed Cate’s title because I really identified with what she wrote.  This week Cate talks about how she feels frustrated at her own cynicism towards her personal “big dream” goals and how she wants to break out of her shell and go for it.

I could really relate to her post because I find now that my kids are older and mostly self-sufficient, my mind and heart often wander back to the dreams I once had for a career in music.  Not rock star dreams of course, that’s too big even for my ego.  But a simple dream of getting paid to play my songs in local clubs and just doing something that I love.


That’s me and my guitar back when I first started playing in 1998.  I had never even picked up a musical instrument before but by the end of an 8 week adult interest course at my local college, I had written three songs.  My instructor insisted I had natural talent and that if I pursued it I could do very well for myself.

For the next couple of years I practiced, kept writing songs and even recorded and produced my own album.  Seriously, I have an album called “The Cat’s Out and Other Stories” that I put together entirely on my own in my basement.

Then I just stopped.  I stopped recording, I stopped practicing and I stopped singing.  Though I never really gave up writing lyrics, I call them poems now, I haven’t set any to music in a very long time.  I’m not sure why either.  Life just got ahead of me I suppose and it was one of those things that got put on the back burner.

Recently I took “ol’ Dusty” out of its case, tuned it and just spent a few minutes strumming away.  It was awesome! I really had forgotten just how much I enjoyed playing.  Making music was something that filled me with joy, pride and hope and I think it’s high time I got back at it.

Thanks for the inspiration Cate.  🙂

§ 7 Responses to Sunday’s Share – Living Large

  • Cate says:

    You SO need to “go for it” again girl!

    Live Large!!!!!

    [[[[hugs]]]] Cate

  • Shady Lady says:

    OH MY GOSH! You always pull something out of your hat that amazes me! Singer, song writer, guitarist. You are an impressive lady!!

  • jacquelinemichelle says:

    !!!
    I am SO jealous of you right now. I’ve always wished that I could play guitar & sing. But I don’t have a musical bone in my body. You should totally get back into it.

    By the way, I love that photo.

  • Dana says:

    Yes! Yes! Yes! You should definitely get it out and strum some more and work toward your dreams. It’s never too late. 🙂

  • MrCrow says:

    It’s never too late to do the things you love doing.

  • Sheri says:

    You ladies rock. I started responding individually to your comments but they all said the same thing…

    I can’t thank you enough for your kind words of support, they mean more than you know.

    🙂

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – Does that mean you’ll be awake later. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday’s Share – Living Large at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

