Surprises

May 10, 2010 § 6 Comments

I love surprises and I hate it when they’re spoiled.

This was a lesson I learned when I was twelve years old and went snooping for Christmas presents.  Well, I found them and on Christmas morning there were no surprises for me.  The disappointment was palpable and my mother even asked why I was so dejected.

Of course, I couldn’t tell her that I had peeked and knew what I was getting but I also couldn’t shake the feeling that not only had I let myself down, I had let her down as well.  She was hoping for an excited child on Christmas morning and because I had peeked, we were both disappointed.

The problem is that when I am the giver of surprises, I have such a difficult time keeping them to myself.  I want to immediately share the joy of giving someone something meaningful that they weren’t expecting.

Which leads me to Hubby’s anniversary present.  Even when I woke up this morning I had no idea what I was going to get for him, I just knew I wanted to get it today.  And it had to meaningful for us, something that had nothing to do with anything or anyone else and something that was a symbol of our enduring relationship.

Well, I had a stroke of genius and just went with it and today I got it.  I’m so excited that I want to give it to him as soon as he comes home.

Thankfully, Hubby is much more patient than I and even if I encourage him to open it early I know that he won’t.  He’ll put it out of his mind until Wednesday while I chew at the bit for the next two days.

Oh, I can’t tell you either because he reads my blog.  So now y’all have to wait ’til Wednesday.

😀

§ 6 Responses to Surprises

  • MrCrow says:

    Anniversary?! Didn’t we just have one of those last year? (lol – duck!)

    I think that’s just ADD – I just forget about it 5 minutes after you try and tell me. Sorta along the same lines as me being a pessimist – I’m either right, and proud of it…or merely pleasantly surprised I was wrong.

  • Shady Lady says:

    I love surprises…and I never peek. I’m not at all patient, but when it comes to surprises I can be amazingly patient. That said, I can’t wait to read what your surprise for hubby is!! 😉

    • Sheri says:

      I don’t peek (anymore) either. It was indeed a lesson well learned. 😉

      Well, you won’t have to wait too long, I’ll be writing a post about it tomorrow.

  • MrCrow says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    Wow – you put up with me for a whole 15 years. I’m amazed 😀

  • Sheri says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    I’m putting in for sainthood. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Surprises at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

