Frost in May

May 11, 2010 § 4 Comments

Only in Canada!  Okay, only in Eastern Ontario can it be 18 degrees Celcius during the day and drop down to -2 overnight in the middle of May.

It’s hard to believe, even harder considering what an incredibly mild winter we had, that we had frost overnight.  Thankfully we heeded the Environment Canada warnings and covered the vegetable garden last night so all my little sprouts are still intact and doing fine.

Still no ducks though and I think I’m going to have to concede that they aren’t coming this year.  I’m disappointed for sure but I’m trying to just be grateful that I had as many years as I did to enjoy, feed and commune with them.   Not to mention how many pics I have to remember them by.

Besides, there’s always next year.   😀

§ 4 Responses to Frost in May

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’m glad you were able to cover the baby veggies for the night. And I’m keeping my fingers crossed for ducks next year!!

    • Sheri says:

      Me too…it would have sucked to have had to start all over. But they’re all doing fine.

      And thanks…I’m kind of still hoping they’ll make a late appearance but I really shouldn’t. 🙂

  • Cate says:

    Man, I visit your blog every day, but where did all these posts come from? I think something odd must of being occurring where the updated blog wasn’t being loaded.

    Ah well – good call covering your seedlings – and your ducks may put in a late appearance!

    • Sheri says:

      Could just be timing…and I did do two posts in one day. 😉

      Yes, it was a good call and thankfully they’re all fine and dandy…I’ll post pics soon. And I’m so hoping the ducks are just late this year.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Frost in May at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

