More Unseasonal Temperatures

May 25, 2010 § 4 Comments

It’s been a busy and humid long weekend here and I haven’t felt much like blogging.  I even missed Cate @ Moments of Whimsy’s Sunday’s Share this week and I feel slightly remiss about it.  Especially because her’s was so darn cute…click on the link to check it out.

We’ve been tending the gardens, cutting down brush to make room for the new deck (YAY!!!!) and opening the pool.  With temperatures in the high 20’s and a stifling humidex running in the mid to high 30’s (80 and 90 F for my American friends) it is again unseasonably warm around these parts.

Daughter and her friends braved the just opened pool on Sunday but even the oppressive humidity couldn’t offset the chill of the water and they were in and out pretty quick.  To their credit though, they did try and Hubby and I could only gawk in disbelief at their effort…we’re just too old to endure that kind of shock to our bodies.

Other than the brief visit by the female mallard last week, we’ve not seen hide nor feather of our ducky friends and I’m thinking that’s likely all I’m going to get this year.  They may surprise us and show up in the fall on their way back South but that’s only happened once or twice so I’m not holding my breath.

Thanks to Shady and Cate for their kind and supportive comments to my last post.  I’m getting better at curbing my little freak outs but every now again one slips through and it’s good to know I have friends who understand and relate.

That’s all for now…it’s so hot that it’s taken me over an hour to write this for the breaks I’m taking to retreat to the coolness of the basement.  We’ve got all the windows closed, covered and fans in every room and it’s still hot enough to melt butter.

Seriously, I have a bowl of butter on my kitchen table that is half melted…it’s kind of gross actually.

😀

§ 4 Responses to More Unseasonal Temperatures

  • Cate says:

    You’ve gotten hot and we are now shivering in this old uninsulated house with the cold. They don’t do central heating downunder, so it’s thick jumpers, blankets and heaters or log fires. can’t believe how quickly we are getting through the wood pile!

    • Sheri says:

      No central heating? Yikes…I can’t even imagine. We’d all be bunking in the den come winter. 😉

      And I hear you about the wood. Two years ago when the furnace died (got condemned) in January we learned first hand how quickly you can go through wood.

  • Shady Lady says:

    Well if you’ve got melted butter, you’ve got to make popcorn!! 😉

    And hey, next year to fight off your unschool freak out, you should sign up for the LIFE is Good Unschooling Conference in Vancouver, Washington. I’m excited, but really nervous. The whole shy introvert walking into massive amounts of people…eek! Princess will be in her glory since she is the exact opposite…she’ll be in extrovert heaven!

    • Sheri says:

      Mmmm, buttered popcorn…how’d you know? Still one of my all time fav snacks.

      Congrats on going to Life is Good, I’d so love to be there and meet you guys…am I right that you’re going to meet Colleen there this year?

      And you’ll be fine…if Princess is the extrovert, let her lead the way.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Unseasonal Temperatures at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

