Never Too Hot to Blog

May 26, 2010 § 4 Comments

It’s currently 30 degrees C with a humidex of 40 (which means it feels like 104 F outside)!

It’s too hot to go outside, even to jump in the pool, until much later this afternoon.  And inside, it’s too hot to cook or clean or knit or organize photos or even play with puppets.

But apparently it’s not too hot to blog, still all I can think of to blog about is how freakin’ hot it is.

And lo, if it were only a dry heat…that I could live with.  It’s the stifling, oppressive, heavy, sweat inducing, rotten mood inviting and disgustingly sticky air humidity that makes it unbearable.

It’s not that I haven’t grown accustomed to the diverse climate of my Eastern Ontario, specifically the Ottawa Valley, environment.  I was born and raised in the land of “all weather at any time” and other than a brief stint on the west coast in Victoria, B.C., I’ve lived here my entire life.

I honestly believe I’d go mad living more than a year in a stable climate.  As much as I gotta have my summer warm with sunshine, I also need my snow and ice in winter.  I dunno, I suppose it’s a good deal of what I define as Canadian.

Anyway, what I could so live without is the extremes.  Like a pendulum with some serious momentum, the temperatures here can, and often do, fluctuate rapidly.

Only two weeks ago I was covering up my new vegetable sprouts because it dropped down to -2 overnight and we had frost.  Today, we have Environment Canada warnings saying that due to the current heat wave we shouldn’t go outside between the hours of 11:00 am and 2:00 pm.

Pick a season, any season, I don’t care…just MAKE UP YOUR FREAKIN’ MIND!!!!!!

Okay, phew, I think I’m done now.

Carry on.   😀

§ 4 Responses to Never Too Hot to Blog

  • Cate says:

    I hate that humid heat! When I was growing up in Perth, the temps there were extrememly hot in summer – but a dry heat. I was in for a shock when I moved to Sydney and an then on to Auckland where the heat is that awful hair frizzing humid type. Don’t envy you on that one. Will enjoy my log fire 🙂

    • Sheri says:

      Well, now that it’s later in the afternoon I’m getting in the pool. And though I do envy you your fire, I don’t envy the fact you “need” one. Besides, I COULD have a fire if I wanted to make the house any hotter than it is…which I don’t.

      🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    I love the change of weather, although I don’t like extremes. I grew up just outside of Philadelphia and we had extremes. Hot and humid (I hate humid) summers and frigid freezing cold (I hate it when it’s too cold) winters. Moving to the Pacific Northwest solved my problems (mostly.) Cold winters with very brief periods of freezing and the most amazing summers that might get really hot at times, but not humid.

    Right now we’re having very rainy and cool weather. I’m ready for it to be a little warmer, say 70s if I may be so bold.

    Stay cool!!

    • Sheri says:

      Thanks Shady, today is better but only slightly. We’re supposed to have some rain later on which should help cool things off.

      You may be so bold and I hope you get your warmer temps asap.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Never Too Hot to Blog at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

