Making Changes From Within

May 27, 2010 § 4 Comments

I’ve been thinking a lot about why I find myself worrying about things I don’t need to.  And it’s simple really, I’m just not used to having nothing to worry about so my mind goes out looking for things to concern itself with.

In order to avoid this pointless practice I’ve decided that I’m going to consciously focus on myself and the things I’d like to change about my own life.

The idea is to not worry about what anyone else is (or isn’t) doing and just do something for myself.  To that end, on June 1st I’m going to start a diet and exercise regimen.

My Goals Are:

1 – To improve my overall health, physical stamina and lose 20lbs.  (I’m currently at 165 lbs with most of the extra weight centered in my belly area – I’d really like to change that.)

2 – To create a new daily routine that reflects, supports and encourages these goals without making me feel bogged down by a sense of guilt if I skip a day.

3 – To set an example for Daughter without preaching, nagging or cajoling her into feeling like she has to join me.

4 – To fit into my bikini and favourite summer clothes before the season is over.

5 – To be able to have sex without feeling like I just ran a 10k marathon.  😉

My Plan Is:

1 – To eat a sensible diet of healthy foods and cut out the snacking.  (No more crisps (potato chips), chocolate or sugary treats that have no nutritional value.)

2 – To exercise twice a day using a combination of weights, laps in the pool, walking and the gym equipment at our local recreation centre.

3 – To practice playing my guitar everyday.  (Though this isn’t necessarily physical health related it is emotionally satisfying which will go a long way to helping keep me on track.)

4 – To write a weekly “no holds barred” diary/report of my progress and post it on my blog.  I’m more likely to do it if I know I’ve committed to writing about it.

5 – To give myself permission to do things just for me and worry less about other people…yes, even my kids.

There you have it.  That’s my plan and though I’ll probably spend the next few days making it way more complicated with charts, schedules and lists, it’s a start that I hope will lead to more positive changes that come from within.

§ 4 Responses to Making Changes From Within

  • Cate says:

    We are so in sync that it’s scary – i started my exercise / healthy eating program yesterday 🙂

    Will be awaiting the updates with anticipation!

    • Sheri says:

      Awesome, it’s nice to know I’ll have someone following along that will relate. I’m kind of dreading the updates myself. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot about eating better and fitness/exercise and losing weight. Funny thing is that we weigh almost exactly the same (depends on the day;) and want to lose exactly the same amount. These are things that I want to do, but I simply cannot even begin to think about it until after LK comes home. I am so over the top stressed right now and overwhelmed with too much to do. But after LK is home, look out!

    Good luck to you!! I can’t wait to see your progress!!

    • Sheri says:

      Well you certainly have enough on your plate right now so it’s totally understandable. Thanks, and I’m just praying there is some progress. Though I’m determined, I’m also easily discouraged. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making Changes From Within at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

