Armed and Nervous

May 28, 2010 § 3 Comments

They say knowledge is power and that if you want to triumph over something you should arm yourself with with as much information about it as you can.

So, I’ve spent the morning researching calorie indexes, average calories in the foods I normally eat and exercises I should be doing to tighten up my target area (belly).

I’m not going all hard core and have no intention of weighing my portions or swapping everything out in my pantry for low fat, calorie reduced, tastes like crap food items.  I’m just going to be more aware of what I’m eating and how much of it.

I’m also a big proponent of eating smaller meals more often and will incorporate that practice into my new eating habits.

I’m leaning towards trying to lose 2lbs a week which will bring my target date to August 15th.  Which is, totally coincidentally, Hubby’s birthday.

What better present for him than a healthier, happier and slightly thinner wife?  He’d say a motorcycle no doubt…like that’s gonna happen.   😀

As with most things that I venture into I am a little nervous…mostly that I flake out after two weeks and give up.  I really hope that doesn’t happen.  This is something I really want to do for myself and I know how proud of myself I’ll be if I see it to the end.

Even if I only lose half the weight I want to, it’s more about making the commitment to a healthier lifestyle and feeling better physically, emotionally and spiritually.

§ 3 Responses to Armed and Nervous

  • Dana says:

    Congratulations! For me, eating a salad before dinner helped a lot (especially when it was from my garden!) Getting pregnant didn’t help so much.

    Now I’m going through the healthy eating and exercise thing while completely ignoring my weight. 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    I avoid low fat/non fat like the plague. Nasty, awful, unhealthy stuff!

    My goal is to eat more whole foods and drastically reduce/eliminate processed foods including highly processed oils like vegetable oils. I use coconut oil, palm oil, butter and olive oil…oh, and bacon grease. Good stuff!!

  • MrCrow says:

    Mmmm…Bacon Grease 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Armed and Nervous at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

