Hypocrisy Lives Here

May 28, 2010 § 2 Comments

This whole my-kids-aren’t-children-anymore thing is quite the roller coaster.  The ups and downs of parenting young adults and teens is unmatched by any previous stage.

Though I’d like to eloquently remark about how it’s been a journey of enlightening and spiritually fulfilling realizations and personal growth, it’s really been more like the jerky starts and stops of a really bad amusement park ride that you don’t remember getting on and are firmly belted in for.

Case in point…

Mom and the Underwear Drawer

Daughter walked in on me while I was, purely out of habit as I am known to spontaneously arrange disarray when I come across it, organizing her underwear drawer. To my credit, when I walked by it was open and dainties were all over the place and haphazardly hanging out of it.  I did not just randomly open her dresser drawer looking for something to do.

Anyway, I really don’t like to think of myself as one of “those” kinds of Moms but the look on her face was absolute and undeniable confirmation that I am, at least, headed in that direction.

Daughter: What are you doing?

Me: Just tidying.

Daughter: My underwear, really Mom?

She said nothing else, she didn’t have to.  The incredulous look on her face said it all.

“Have you nothing better to do than sort my skivvies?”

“Why do you care about how I put away my clothes?”

“Do I go around sorting through your things?”

And there you have it.  How, unless I get a reign on it right quick, my active hypocrisy will mar my attempts to have healthy adult child/parent relationships with my kids.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’m a lost cause.  It’s just that now I’m aware that I still have a ways yet to go if I want to avoid become a meddlesome mother.

§ 2 Responses to Hypocrisy Lives Here

  • Shady Lady says:

    Sheri, thank you so much for going through this ahead of me. I know that by watching you, I will have learned all I needed to know to be the perfect mother of a teen/young adult. You do believe that, right? 😉

    • Sheri says:

      Well, you’re welcome.

      And don’t look to me for anything close to a measure of perfect. I’m just happy to be doing a good enough job that my kids still like me. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hypocrisy Lives Here at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

