Well that was freaky…

June 23, 2010 § 3 Comments

We had an earthquake this afternoon.  Of course by California standards I’m sure it was more like “just a little shake”.   😉

Still, for us in the Ottawa Valley, they are a very rare occurrence happening only every 10 or so years.  The shaking lasted less than a minute and merely rattled a few windows and Daughter’s nerves.  It scared her quite a bit, it was the first one she actually felt.  A few hugs and reassurances that everything was fine set her at ease.

The last one we had was when she was about 5 and it was very early in the morning.  We all slept through it, though I did wake up right after and knew we had had one.  I woke Hubby up and told him we had just had an earthquake, he didn’t believe me and told me to go back to sleep.

When the new reports came out later that day he called me and apologized.

This time Hubby was in the downtown core and they evacuated his office building.  He said it was like being in school when the fire alarm unexpectedly goes off (like the time he pulled it).  People filling the halls, whispering their questioning  surprise at one another and then everyone standing around outside like lost sheep waiting to be herded back to their pens.

Just got word, as I was writing this, that the earthquake is being measured at 5.0 magnitude.  That’s much higher than I thought but then I was outside with my feet firmly on the ground.  The epicenter was actually north east of us and apparently the effects more severe.

And later today severe thunderstorms in the forecast.  Definitely an interesting day, nature wise, around these parts.

§ 3 Responses to Well that was freaky…

  • Colleen says:

    Weird! As a Californian one of the first things I do when I go into a building is figure out how to get out or where to hide if the earth starts to shake. I can’t help it. Either that, or I think, “God I’d hate to be here in an earthquake.” Even when we’re traveling in places that supposedly don’t have earthquakes I still think about them…

    • Sheri says:

      For us, earthquakes are so rare that we tend to think of large trucks or low flying planes first. They’re usually over before most of us realize what actually happened.

      Weird indeed. 😉

  • […] had a similar earthquake a couple of years ago at the end of June but I was outside when it happened and the difference is tangible. I hardly […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well that was freaky… at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

