When No News is Worse than Bad News

June 28, 2010 § 3 Comments

Sort of a downer post, sorry.

Things with Son have not only not improved, they’ve gotten worse.

I reached a breaking point with him in that I was no longer satisfied with handing over money to him knowing he was not being entirely upfront about his situation.

He’s been playing me, much like he used to when he was four and would bat his long eyelashes at me and throw me an, “I love you Mommy!” when he wanted something.

The hardest part is that I’m not sure what the real problem is because he’s not being open with me.  Sure, he’s feeding me a whole bunch of what I want to here but I can see through that.

So finally I just told him that I wasn’t even willing to discuss giving him any more money until he started being straight with me about what’s going on with him.

That was Thursday evening and the only thing I’ve heard from him since was that he was taking off for the weekend and he’d be in touch with me on Sunday.

I’m pretty sure he’s physically okay and believe me that’s something, I know that there are plenty of Moms out there who don’t even have that confidence.  But emotionally and spiritually, I worry that he’s losing himself.

Maybe I’m wrong, maybe he’s just shaking off the last of his teenage stubbornness and waking up to the reality of life as an adult.  I’m really hoping for that.

Still, until I hear from him I can only wonder, worry and pray.

§ 3 Responses to When No News is Worse than Bad News

  • Shady Lady says:

    I can’t imagine how hard this must be for you. (((((BIG HUGS))))) I hope things work out well and soon.

  • Cate says:

    So sorry to hear this. Sending you lots of hugs and prayers – parenting from a distance is hard, hard stuff.

    xxx

  • Lisa says:

    I’m so sorry. I’m thinking about you and sending you hugs. And apologizing to my mother for being such a shitty teenager/young adult. If grandchildren really are a parent’s revenge on their kids, I am SO SCREWED.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When No News is Worse than Bad News at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

