1 Down, 8 to Go

July 7, 2010 § 7 Comments

I wish I had some kind of good news for a change.

First off, things with Son are beyond explanation.  Honestly, I’m having trouble merely comprehending it so finding words is very difficult.  He just simply refuses to see how the choices HE’S made has resulted in the circumstances he’s found himself having to deal with.

Really, according to him, everything that’s wrong with his life is someone else’s fault.  Whether it’s his roommates, his co-workers, his boss and even me.  I just can’t fathom it.  And of course, my patience has worn very thin as I refuse to be made a scapegoat for his irresponsibility.

I think he forgets that I was 16 when I had him, raised him by myself, finished high school, went to college etc, etc.  He’s pushing it looking for sympathy from me when all he has to do is take care of himself.   Still he refuses too, instead opting to beg for handouts from anyone still willing to give him the time of day.

Several times a day I pray that this is just a phase, that it’s the emotional turmoil of realizing he’s a full fledged adult now and that he finds the strength to come out of it a stronger person.

This past weekend I took off to my friend’s cottage for some much needed R & R and had a wonderful time.  It was over far too soon for my liking but I was still glad to be coming home.

Unfortunately, all that peace and serenity dissipated within an hour of arriving home when Rosie came limping through the backyard.

The vet is pretty sure she got hit by a car.  Poor thing, her hip was dislocated and she had a couple of open cuts that required stitches.  So after surgery, a night at the vet’s office and $900 (that’s NOT a typo) later she’s back home and recovering.  That’s one life down, eight to go.

Daughter is none too impressed though because it means that we have to postpone her birthday trip to Toronto until the cat’s next visit to the vet.  I feel so horrible but at the same time I think it’s also a good life lesson about dealing with the unexpected, coping with disappointment and finding perspective.  Still, there’s a lot of pouting.

Throw in the 40 C humidity (that’s 104 F) this week and it’s been all around pretty miserable.

It can only get better, right?  Right?

§ 7 Responses to 1 Down, 8 to Go

  • Colleen says:

    Sending hugs. I’m glad you were able to have a weekend away. Sounds like it was much needed!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Colleen. The hugs are much appreciated. And yes, the weekend away was much needed. 🙂

  • Cate says:

    Oh yes – lots of hugs. Your poor cat, yuck to the heat & humidity and hearing you with the son.

    Go pick up that guitar and have some time out!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate! And actually, I did just that. Yesterday I picked up my guitar and strummed a few chords, it felt good.

    🙂

  • Lisa says:

    Oh! Poor kitty! And poor you guys with the heat! Glad you got to take a little break, though.

  • Lisa says:

    And, oh! Your son! Ugh. Funny he doesn’t realize exactly what you went through – and the rough road you traveled on and came out stronger because of. One day, he will. And he will thank you. Or I’ll come to Canada and slap him upside the head myself. 😉

  • Sheri says:

    I know eh? Poor thing. She’s holding her own though and doing alright so far.

    Yes…Son. Well, hopefully “one day” will come sooner rather than later or just might pop him one upside the head myself. But I appreciate the offer. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1 Down, 8 to Go at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

