On The Up

July 10, 2010 § 2 Comments

We had some rain yesterday and it cooled things off by about 10 degrees.  Phew.

Along with the break in the heat has come a break in the chaos.  Not that there are resolutions to speak of as far as Son goes and we have another week yet before we know for sure how well Rosie’s hip has healed and what her chances of a full recovery are.

Still, I don’t feel like everything is so in my face right now and it’s been fun as much, as it as has been a relief, to turn our focus to Daughter’s birthday on Monday.  Tomorrow we go out for lunch with the in-laws where she will receive a brand new computer to replace her hand-me down one.  [spoiled brat!  😉 ]

Hubby and I went out this morning and had a blast doing last minute birthday shopping and just hanging out together.  Being married is so awesome and I’m ashamed of how often I forget that.  It’s so easy to get bogged down with parenting issues, money problems and even mundane arguments about dirty dishes and missing hammers.

Today though, we had such a hoot going around to the comic book, video game and music stores making each other laugh, “oooh”ing over cool stuff and genuinely enjoying each other’s company.  It was almost like being teenagers again, except that we’re 40 and we were shopping for stuff for our teenage daughter.

On the way home we stopped off at the grocery store and picked up ingredients to make Daughter a homemade NY style cheesecake.  I’ve only ever made one before but it turned out really well and was delicious.

Daughter still isn’t sure what she wants to do on Monday, Hubby has to work so she and I have the entire day to ourselves, but she’s excited to start it off with breakfast in bed and unwrapping gifts.

I end this post with one of my favourite pics of all time…

“It’s not YOUR birthday Grampa!”

That’s my Dad and Daughter on her first birthday.  If you look closely, you can see my Dad has icing on his fingernails…I snapped this right after Daughter loudly protested his interference in her cake smooshing.

Isn’t that the sweetest pic ever?

§ 2 Responses to On The Up

  • Lisa says:

    Happy birthday to Daughter!!

    And, funny, I’m going through the same thing with Hubby right now, too. Just actually enjoying being with him, in a great place relationship wise. So very different from last year at this time, I can hardly believe it.

    I’m glad things are going well for you guys, and best wishes to the birthday girl and the poor cat!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Lisa!

    Marriage is definitely a roller coaster ride…I’m trying to learn to appreciate it when it’s good and endure it when it’s not. 😉

    I’ll pass along your birthday wishes to Daughter.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On The Up at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

