On Turning Fifteen and Mutant Green Beans

July 11, 2010 § 6 Comments

What a great day!  It was warm without being stupid hot, lunch was absolutely awesome and Daughter was more than thrilled, and is still very much enthralled, with her birthday present of a new computer.


She also thoroughly enjoyed the homemade NY style cheesecake that I made especially for her.  I’ve only ever made one before and though it was a success, I was still a little nervous in making this one…no Mom wants to mess up their kid’s birthday cake.  It turned out great though and I think I’ll be making them a lot more often.

Anyway, it wasn’t until I started counting out the candles for the cake that it really hit me, ‘Holy Crap, my baby is fifteen!’  And as moments of her life flashed before my eyes I became ever more convinced that time runs downhill.

I thought her turning five happened too fast, when she turned ten I was aghast and now that’s she’s turning fifteen, my heart is racing and I’m turning green.   😀

Speaking of green…look at these green beans!  (nice segue eh?)


This is our first harvest from our backyard garden.  Aren’t they awesome?!  I’m going to blanch them, cut them up and then freeze them.  I suspect it’ll become a daily activity as there are plenty more where they came from.

Just to give you an idea of how freakishly big they are…


Isn’t that ridiculous?  Unlike the mutant strawberries though, at least I know these beans are free from genetic meddling and grew naturally in a pesticide free garden.   I really can’t explain how good it feels to grow your own food…it so rocks!

I hope everyone had a good weekend.

§ 6 Responses to On Turning Fifteen and Mutant Green Beans

  • Colleen says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day! And I love the term “stupid hot.” I’ve never heard that one before, but I’ve certainly felt it! 😉

    • Sheri says:

      It was, thank you.

      We use that term a lot up here when referring to the weather…it’s in reference to the humidity which makes for the extremes of stifling heat and bitter wind chills.

      “Stupid hot” and “stupid cold” are popular vernacular for this part of the world.

      😀

  • Cate says:

    Happy Birthday daughter – and they are huge beans!!

    • Sheri says:

      Daughter says, “Thanks Cate!”

      I know eh? Ginormous beans and already the cucumbers are coming in too. I see much pickling in my future.

      🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    Happy Belated Birthday to your Daughter!! (and love your green beans!;)

  • Sheri says:

    Hehe, Daughter is tickled by all these well wishes. Thanks so much.

    They’re huge eh? Even better though is that they taste awesome and I know exactly where they’ve been. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Turning Fifteen and Mutant Green Beans at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

