Buried Treasure

July 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

Leave it to me to break the air conditioning during the middle of the most humid summer we’ve ever experienced. And that’s exactly what happened the day the men were here working on the post holes.

It took less than four hours for the house to warm up and it just keeps getting hotter.  We have fans on in almost every room and while we take advantage of the morning and evening breezes, in the middle of the day it’s just STUPID hot.  (That’s for Colleen. :D)

Today I found some relief in the basement while I sorted through a bunch of crap that’s been lying around for ages.  I rummaged through boxes of tarnished goblets and other medieval type stuff, old toys and even one containing the kids’ old report cards.

Amidst all that random chaos I also found something that I had completely forgotten about.  Like a kid who finds a lost beloved toy when they clean out their closet, I delighted in my great find…

It’s the design and the pieces to a picture quilt that I had started…geeze, I don’t even remember how many years ago.  Amazingly, I had the forethought to plop all the fabric triangles, the original drawing and the adapted design into a freezer bag to keep it all together.  Clever monkey.  😉

It feels a little like Christmas for how excited I am that I found this.  I can’t wait to get started on it again, I just hope my enthusiasm lasts past organizing all the bits and figuring out which ones go where.  It turns out I didn’t have colours that matched exactly my design and I only made a few random notes (that look like chicken scratches) about the substitutions.

Oh well, it’ll be like a puzzle too then.   😀

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.

§ 2 Responses to Buried Treasure

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Buried Treasure at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

