Inspiration + Motivation = Cupcakes

July 23, 2010 § 5 Comments

Inspired this week by both Cate @ Moments of Whimsy and Heather @ Swiss Army Wife by their cupcake escapades, it seems all I needed was a little motivation.

And said motivation has come in the shape of the five year old step-son of Hubby’s golfing buddy who is stopping by for a swim and afternoon BBQ tomorrow.

So, along with making sure that we have plenty of hot dogs, clean towels and Lego on hand, I’m going to whip up a batch of…

…yep, cupcakes!

Now obviously they won’t be gluten free like Heathers nor will they be as beautifully decorated as Cate’s but they’ll be yummy and no doubt put a smile on a little guy’s face.

Thanks for the inspiration ladies!  🙂

§ 5 Responses to Inspiration + Motivation = Cupcakes

  • Goodie Girl says:

    No matter what they look like…as long as they are yummy than you are golden!! And it’s kinda hard to go wrong with sugar, sugar, and more sugar!

    ~GG

  • Cate says:

    OOoh – you go girl. An although I feel a bit guilty when I make them from a packet, Betty Crocker’s mix is the best – they come up consistently yummy! I don’t like her icing though, so make my own.

    Enjoy!!

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate. I’m not sure now if I’ve ever made cupcakes from scratch…muffins for sure. And I never did get the hang of icing, mine always turns out like crap so I gave up and just use the ready to go stuff.

    Although I do like to jazz it up a bit like adding peppermint or orange extract to chocolate and a bit of food colouring to the vanilla stuff.

    🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    I was totally drooling over Heather’s GF cupcakes. I am so not a baker and the gluten free mixes, well, suck. Good for you for jumping on the cupcake bandwagon. LK needs to come home and perfect his GF baking skills. I’m suddenly craving cupcakes…

  • Sheri says:

    Me too, her Whiskey Carnival one…yummmm.

    My cupcakes turned out fine but when you know they’re made with bleached flour and refined sugar…kinda takes the fun out of it. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration + Motivation = Cupcakes at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

