Like A Medieval Wardrobe Exploded

July 27, 2010 § 4 Comments

So in trying to keep up, encourage and thrive on the momentum that’s swirling around about getting back to my medieval business, I decided the first place to start was to take stock of my present inventory.

Yikes…


This is but a mere fraction of what I found and scattered my living and dining rooms with.  I’ve got gowns, capes and hooded pieces all over the place.

And as you can see from the picture, I also have enough bodices to costume an entire Shakespearan production.

Still, this nothing for the patterns, fabric, coordinating thread and various other tools of this trade that are also part of my vast inventory.  Not too mention the sheer volume of miscellaneous feast gear and accessories that go along.  (I’ll take more pictures later.)

So though my house is a mess right now, I am comfortable that I definitely don’t need to concern myself with start up costs.

The trick is now to figure out what exactly I’m going to do with all this stuff.  I’m leaning towards scoping out flea markets and craft fairs to see about setting up shop somewhere to get started.  It seems like a non-threatening way to get myself out there and get practice selling my wares.

I also have a list a mile long of repairs, hems and finishing touches to do on the costumes I already have and the website to rebuild.

My work is definitely cut out for me (a little sewing pun) but I’m really excited to get back at it.

§ 4 Responses to Like A Medieval Wardrobe Exploded

  • Shady Lady says:

    I am on the edge of my seat! This is so exciting! How about an Etsy shop? I want to see what you’ve got…and if you have anything in my size ;D

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Shady! I appreciate your enthusiasm.

    I’ve only just recently heard of etsy and know very little about it, I’ll have to look into it.

    Are you looking for a particular piece of garb? I have a lovely purple hooded mantle that might interest you. 😀

  • Cate says:

    You know, what is really funny is that I was wondering what you were doing with all of this recently (while battling with learning to sew) as when I first started “hanging out” with you online, you still had your costume website, and I was so impressed with your skills!

    So……seems to me that you have a pretty impressive biz all ready to be launched my friend……get to it!!

    Would love to hear more about it all too, ie: how did you get into it? Do you wear these type of clothes? is there a good market for them?……questions, questions…….. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Have we been hanging out that long? Oh my. 😀

    Thanks for the support…I’m impressed too, I’d almost forgotten how much work I put into it.

    And I’ll answer your questions in my next post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Like A Medieval Wardrobe Exploded at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

