My Mother

July 31, 2010 § 4 Comments

No doubt waiting for the next shoe
To drop on or around you

No doubt waiting for the next communication
To anoint and in same shame

To hold you up and hold you down
All at the same time

But know that if the world were to end
Tomorrow or the next day

Know that if even everything were different
I would love you anyway

Where once I held you hostage to all the blame
Where once I held you inside my cage

I realize now I was just adding on
I realize now I was playing along

To the idea that it’s all your fault

I know now that it couldn’t possibly be
I know that now better than I know me

And if I had a gun and the guts
And if I had a way to undo

I’d blow his head off
And come crawling back to you

I’d rather beg for your forgiveness
Than wait around for your permission

You are my mother and I love you
And neither is ever going to change

§ 4 Responses to My Mother

  • Cate says:

    You leave me wanting so many details when you write with such poignancy…

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks. And I’m sure someday you’ll hear all about it. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    I too wonder so much. As you know my relationship with my mother was bad. I’ve recovered from it and she’s dead now. I’ve moved on. I still have my father to deal with. We’re speaking now. I just hope I can keep things from spiraling downward again. Hugs to you my friend.

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – I really wish I was ready to put it all out there…the poems are just easier. 😉

    I know you relate more than most and I too am curious about your situation. I have so many questions I want to ask you.

    Add to that that I’m also in a precarious relationship with my own father and can relate there as well.

    I so understand what you mean about being able to keep things from spiraling.

    Hugs back at ya!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Mother at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

