As I Grasp at Straws

August 2, 2010 § 5 Comments

Some part of me is still waiting, breathless
Some part of me is still holding on desperately to intention

Some part of me still refuses to admit defeat
Some part of me still resists the idea that I’m beat

But most of me is too tired to fight
And as I grasp at straws

I realize I’ve lived too much and too long
To concern myself with these kinds of flaws

Some part of me is still naive enough to believe in my dreams
Some part of me is still weaving along worn out seams

Some part of me has already decided I’ve won, whether I feel it or not
Some part of me has already celebrated victory, no matter how empty

But most of me is ready to resign
And as I grasp at straws

I understand that I have half a life still to go
And I can’t focus on these kinds of flaws

Some part of me is still waiting, breathless

§ 5 Responses to As I Grasp at Straws

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading As I Grasp at Straws at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

