Random Update

August 9, 2010 § 5 Comments

The stifling humidity that’s been plaguing us has not really let up but the rain all day yesterday brought with it a most welcome reprieve.  We had the windows and doors open all day and it was so nice to breathe the cooler air.

Son has gotten himself a new full-time job that in a few short weeks will afford him the opportunity to make changes to his less than desirable living arrangements (and keep him out of our basement).  Supporting and encouraging him to pull himself up by his own bootstraps has not been easy but totally worth it.

It has always been easier to just take him back in instead of watching him have to deal with bullshit, but in the long run I know that it’s much better for him.  He’s definitely been learning more about his responsibility to face the consequences of his decisions.

The oh so anticipated deck has not progressed much since I last wrote about it but frankly, I’m not concerned. We’ve made more progress this summer than we have in a decade and I know that eventually it will get done.  And come next year I’ll get to go shopping for outdoor furniture and planters to decorate it and I’ll be very happy.

Other than that, I’ve been playing with fabric and having a blast…


I just LOVE fabric as an artistic medium.  The picture above is not a dress, it’s merely the front piece of an incomplete  bodice and a bunch of fabric just thrown together made to look like a dress (a la Art Attack hosted by Neil Buchanan).

There’s just something so forgiving about fabric that appeals to me.  It can be placed, moved and rearranged so easily that it almost pains me to have to cut it and sew it to turn into something practical.  Yet, I need that element of practical if I’m to make any money from my creations.

Anyway, there might be some news on the medieval business front but I want to confirm it before I get too excited about it.  I’ll keep you posted.

Hope everyone had a great weekend.

§ 5 Responses to Random Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Random Update at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

