Sewing Without A Pattern – A Metaphor

August 12, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’m making a medieval style skirt to go with the bodice I’ve been working on.

Unlike the bodice for which I have a detailed pattern, I’m making the matching skirt out of remnants that just happen to co-ordinate beautifully.

I don’t have enough fabric to work with any of my existing patterns so I have to improvise and pretty much wing it.  I have an idea in my head of what I hope it will look like when it’s done, but I have no guarantees.  I’m confident in my skills and abilities but I worry because there’s still so much room for error.

Right now, all I have is this…


A partial bodice, a bunch of fabric and notions, the necessary tools and a firm desire to make something useful and pretty out of an idea in my head.

This is where the metaphor part comes in.  This experience is a tangible reminder of what life has been like for us since we started homeschooling/unschooling.

It’s okay to follow someone else’s pattern if it suits you and if you are learning from it but it should be equally okay to decide you want to wing it, make your own mistakes and continue trying to make your own ideas and visions a reality.

The end result may be more obscure and harder to come by but it is infinitely more satisfying.   😀

§ 2 Responses to Sewing Without A Pattern – A Metaphor

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sewing Without A Pattern – A Metaphor at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

