Too Relieved for I Told You So

August 15, 2010 § 3 Comments

I don’t think that, as parents, we mean to be condescending or belittling when we say things like, “I told you so” in whatever variation it comes.

“Didn’t I tell you?”

“I said this would happen.”

“You didn’t listen to me.”

I really believe that for the majority of us it’s the simple expression of frustration that had your child simply heeded your advice, they might have avoided a current problem.

Because the real truth is that most parents hope that their kids won’t make the same mistakes they did.  They hope that their children won’t experience the same hurts and suffer the same losses.  It’s natural, right?

While it might be natural to not want your kids to experience the same struggles as you did, it is best to let them deal with their own.

My point?

Son came by today to wish Hubby a Happy Birthday and at the same time let us know that things with his roommates have improved dramatically.  He told us how he and his friends sat down, put all of their cards on the table and hashed everything out…like adults.

He said that things have never been better and that all the tension in the house has dissipated.  He’s no longer feeling like he needs to get out of there and is very much relieved.

Well, that makes two of us and I didn’t once feel the urge to say I told you so.  I guess I’m growing up too.

😀

§ 3 Responses to Too Relieved for I Told You So

  • Cate says:

    Wonderful to hear that things are working out well for son. And go you for your restraint – high five for the parenting girl 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    It is hard to watch our children make mistakes, get hurt, fall down, etc. But can they ever really learn without doing so? Of course not. Still, it doesn’t make it any easier knowing that. I think the biggest thing for me is remembering to stay out of the way. Wait a minute! You mean I make mistakes, too?! Huh! How about that. Even when I’ve been warned by things I’ve read in books. I guess it really does take experience. Go figure!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Too Relieved for I Told You So at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

