Cartoons and Bandages

August 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

One gone and finally doing fine
One left but no longer mine

Time took my babies
Replaced them with people
Leaving me only the memories

Of 2 am paces across the floor
And not even making it passed the door
Before they started crying again

Of bottles and diapers up to my chin
And patience that so easily wore thin
But grew as time went on

Of cartoons and bandages making things better
And throwing in a popsicle just for good measure
In case the hugs and kisses weren’t quite enough

Time took my toddlers and children
Replaced them with a young man and young woman
Leaving me only the memories

Of trips to the park and sitting in swings
Playing with toys, making up stories and creating things
Out of whatever we could get our hands on

Of over 35 cakes, and countless of candles
Of more presents than I think my mind can handle
Of not willing to trade a moment of it

Sure there’s stuff that’s been less than pleasant
But I swear to the heavens that here in the present
Time took that too

Leaving me only the memories
Of all the best stuff

§ 3 Responses to Cartoons and Bandages

  • Cate says:

    I am sooooo with you in this!!!

    [[[[hugs]]]]

  • Shady Lady says:

    Thank you for the reminder. My Princess is still so young and I need to remember to treasure this time…right now. I need to remember that while I truly don’t enjoy playing Barbies and the like, this time is fleeting. I need to learn to savor the moment. Thank you again, Sheri. Beautiful poetry!!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Thanks for the hugs. As much of a joy it is to experience our kids growing up there’s always that twinge of loss.

    Shady – You’re welcome. And yes, it is so fleeting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cartoons and Bandages at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

