Sister Speak

August 24, 2010 § 2 Comments

This last 10 months has been the longest we’ve gone without talking.

It’s been heartbreaking for me and though I’ve tried to talk to her at least half a dozen times, all to no avail, I’m not the kind who gives up easily.

Today I thought I’d give it another go, for no other reason than she’s my sister and I love her.

This time she actually responded.

And I feel like a weight has lifted off of my shoulders. Still, I didn’t let the silence go unmentioned.

Me: You know I’ve called you at least half a dozen times.

Her: I know. I’m a bitch, what can I say?

Me: Well, I say you come by it honestly but at least you’re willing to admit it which is way more than she (meaning our mother) would do.

Her: Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Me: I’ve really missed you.

Her: I’ve missed you too but I’m going to go before you get all sappy on me.

Me: Okay, fair enough. But we’re still friends, we’re good right?

Her: Of course. You’re my sister. I love you.

Me: I love you too.

And there you have it.  Sister speak and sister love.  Unmatched in the world of female relationships.

If you have a sister that is nearby, hug her and appreciate her for everything that she is…because I promise you’ll find no better friend.

😀

§ 2 Responses to Sister Speak

  • Cate says:

    Nope, no sister. A few sis-in-laws though – some good, some not good at all……

    Lovely conversation for you girl 🙂

  • Shady Lady says:

    Well, my sister is right in the other room. She is living with us for a while. We have our ups and downs, but when it comes down to it we are always there for each other. I guess that counts for something!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sister Speak at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

