Happy Back To No School

September 7, 2010 § 5 Comments

It’s the first day of school around these parts and I’m ever relieved that we no longer have to endure the tortuous rituals that used to mark this day.

No last minute shopping, no late nights making sure just the right outfit is clean, ironed and ready to go, no more worrying about which teacher and which classmates (the bullies) would be influencing the majority of Daughter’s daytime experiences.

But this year is also different because we have come full circle as we will no longer be unschooling and are going back to where we started this journey almost 4 years ago, school at home.

Daughter has several times expressed her desire to go to college.  I told her that it wasn’t as simple as signing her up and because of her age and the fact that we’ve been unschooling for the majority of the time she’s been out of school, that there would be lots of hoops to jump through and tests to take to prove that she could handle the workload.

Needless to say she wasn’t too impressed with that answer.  I explained that her other options were to go back to public school or sign up for Independent Learning and work on getting her HS diploma at home, which if she worked at it could take half the time that public school would.

Since wild horses couldn’t drag her back into that environment, she opted for the latter.

So, as soon as the paper work is filed and her first course delivered, she will officially be a high school student…albeit one that gets to sleep as late as she wants, work on what she wants whenever she wants and doesn’t have to worry about whether or not she gets to join the “in crowd”…she IS the in crowd.  😉

It’ll be a switch up for sure.  After spending four years coming to terms with what we’ve been doing, or rather haven’t been doing, and practising my witty retorts about unschooling for people who ask, “How come she’s not in school?” it’s a little weird.

But deep down I’m also somewhat relieved.  Don’t get me wrong, I was totally willing to see this unschooling endeavour to whatever shores it lead to if that’s what Daughter wanted.  I know first hand that a high school diploma is not the end all and there are plenty of people who get along just fine, some even awesomely, without one.

But reality is, it is still the easiest and quickest means to post secondary education if that’s what you’re after.  Right now, that’s what Daughter is after and this is the direction we’re taking.

It also means that I won’t have be “ON” as much trying to come up with interesting projects and daily activities. Sure, I’ll still do those things but now at a more leisurely pace without as much fretting.  Plus I’ll get more downtime while she’s working on her courses.

It promises to be an interesting year and I’m looking forward to this new development.

😀

§ 5 Responses to Happy Back To No School

  • Cate says:

    Welcome to my world girl! I still consider it unschooling in the sense that the kids are choosing to do this with a specific goal in mind. Your role will be more of the facilitator, overseeing the big picture of where she’s at, what needs to be done in what time frame yada yada.

    Enjoy – and we usually go to the movies on the first day of new school terms – just because we can 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Isn’t it great! I bet that you get the theatres to yourselves. 😀

    And yeah, it does mean that my role will be changing, yet again, I just hope that I ease into it as opposed to charging like a rhino…which I’ve been known to do.

    😛

  • Shady Lady says:

    If it is completely her choice, it is unschooling!

    I’ve got a long time before we have to think about college/university. Technically, Princess misses the cutoff for first grade by 17 days. So, like I said, we’ve got a ways to go. 😉

    I can’t wait to hear about how things go for Daughter!!

  • Cheryl says:

    Another option would be to go straight to college, if college is what she wants to do. Why do high school at all? Is there a community college nearby? Sign her up for a class or two.

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks for the comment Cheryl.

    Actually, there is a community college nearby.

    Honestly, I haven’t looked into it because it never occurred to me that at 15, a grade 6 drop out could just sign up for a college class. (See, I still suffer from school think sometimes.)

    When I think about college without HS, I just assumed she’d have to wait to qualify for mature student status, which is another 4 years away.

    If she does HS at home and gets a diploma, she can go as soon as she’s done.

    But now that you mention it, I will look into it.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Back To No School at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

