My Bun Recipe

September 9, 2010 § 5 Comments

This post is for Cate @ Moments of Whimsy who in the comments asked for my bread recipe.

I’m more than happy to oblige though I will have to admit that I’ve never actually tried to make a whole loaf of bread from this recipe.  But it does make the most delicious dinner rolls and I’ve used it so often that I know it by heart.

Add to 1 cup of lukewarm milk
2 1/4 tsp of active dry yeast
Let stand for 5 – 8 minutes

Add 2 tblsp of soft butter
1/4 cup of white sugar
1 tsp salt

Whisk together

1/2 cup at a time, add in 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Whisk until mixture becomes thickened then start folding in remaining flour
Knead in any remaining flour as necessary

Place ball of dough in a covered bowl in a warm place and let rise for 1 hour
Knead on a floured surface, divide into twelve pieces and place in a buttered muffin pan

Cover with a tea towel and let rise for another hour
Brush lightly with melted butter

Bake in a preheated 400 – 425 F oven for 15 -20 minutes

When not over or under cooked, these buns are awesome. The trick is to get the temperature and time right, so keeping a close eye on them is a good idea.

Now I’m totally inspired to try baking a whole loaf from this recipe.

Cate, please let me know if you try it and how it turns out.  I’m especially interested to see if there’s any notable differences from other bread recipes you’ve tried.

😀

§ 5 Responses to My Bun Recipe

  • Cate says:

    Cool – thanks for this! Will try to give it a go over the weekend 🙂

    • Sheri says:

      Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

      I tried it myself today and realized it’s too much sugar for a loaf.

      I guess in buns it’s okay but my batch today turned out more like pizza dough.

      Good thing though, Hubby makes the best homemade pizza!

      😀

    • Sheri says:

      Are you and Princess allergic to gluten?

      I’ve definitely heard a lot of gluten-free talk but I have to admit I’m not really sure about the details.

      • Shady Lady says:

        Princess has Celiac which is often hereditary. I have Hashimoto’s and people who have that often have Celiac, too. I haven’t been tested (the test is expensive) Princess has. With all that, and to avoid the test since our house is now gluten free to avoid cross contamination, I have just gone gluten free. And to support Princess, the Lizard King has gone gluten free as well…at least at home and whenever Princess is around. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Bun Recipe at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

