Rain, Rain, Go Away

September 9, 2010 § 6 Comments

It’s been raining all week, actually it started the afternoon the deck was finished last weekend.  Go figure!  Not that that stopped me from enjoying it, I still sat out there.  I just got a little wet is all.  😀

However, it has kept the mason from coming by to rebuild the chimney…mortar apparently doesn’t like rain.  Sheesh.

Anyway, this week has been full of puttering, miscellaneous tidying and some baking.  A cake for Son’s birthday yesterday (he turned 22 – boy do I feel old) and from scratch oatmeal muffins this morning and now I’m waiting for my dough to rise because next it’s buns to go with tonight’s dinner of homemade Whatever I Got Laying Around Soup.

Though I’m not thrilled that we went from stupid hot to wet and cool, it is perfect weather for baking and cooking and I’m finding myself continually drawn to the kitchen to create.  I could paint, draw, write or sew but it seems like the kitchen is where I really want to be.

And believe me, no one around here is complaining one iota.  Apparently, I’ve got me some skillz!  😀

§ 6 Responses to Rain, Rain, Go Away

  • Cate says:

    Shame about the rain, but well done on the baking blitz! Be interested in your bread recipe – am still trying to find one that really works.

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Okay…I’ll post my recipe. 😀

  • MrCrow says:

    I suspect my gut is going to get bigger this winter…but what a way to go. Mmmmm…buns and muffins.

  • Sheri says:

    MrCrow – I’ll lerves you no matter how big your gut gets. 😉

  • Shady Lady says:

    Pesky mortar!

    Sounds like you need to put a roof on your deck, too! LK plans to do that so we can sit out and enjoy our Oregon rain.

    Yum! Baking…I’m not a baker, but the Lizard King is! His next goal is to perfect gluten free baking for me and Princess. I can hardly wait!!

  • Sheri says:

    Shady – We actually have quite the lovely tree canopy that provides lovely shade, unfortunately, it doesn’t keep out persistent rain. 😀

    Gotta love a man who doesn’t mind messing it up in the kitchen. I don’t know about you, but for me it’s definitely a selling point. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rain, Rain, Go Away at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

