More Rain and Other Stuff

September 21, 2010 § 5 Comments

It’s wet again here – another week of rain forecast for this week.  At least we had a really nice weekend and I got to enjoy my deck two days in a row.

Daughter’s application for her High School courses is ready to go and as soon as we get our hands on the final piece of required documentation, she’ll be all set.  Yikes, my baby is starting high school!  Yay, it’s totally her decision and she’s really excited about it!  😀

She also starts an Improv class this week that she’s really looking forward to.  It’s so refreshing to see, especially being the introvert she usually is, putting herself out there and really loving something so extroverted.  It also helps that I took theatre in college and it’s like watching her follow in my footsteps.  With the added joy of knowing her feet are much more firmly gripped than mine were.  😉

Son is settling nicely into his new job and is making the most of the opportunity to set himself back on the right track.  By the end of December he’ll have everyone he owes paid back and have over $2,000 saved up.

Hubby and I have agreed to use the opportunity of Son being home (with the ensuing support) to pay for a college course that he is keen on taking.  The local community college offers a Bartender course, complete with Smart Serve certification (a provincial prerequisite if you want to work as a server of alcohol) and Son is really excited.

I’m just basking in the glow of happy, mostly grown up, making their own decisions kids right now.  😀

But still, I’m not forgetting that I’m my own person and my medieval dabblings are slow going but they are still moving and I’ve managed to get some content together for my website.  I still have tons of pictures to take, costume projects to finish and a PayPal account to set up.

Along with all that, I’ve really wanted to get some landscaping done.  I want to plant bulbs under the maple in front so come spring I’ll have flowers.  I was also hoping, now that the deck is done, to start attacking the overgrowth in the backyard.

Bob the Gnome and his friends are buried under foot tall Dusty Miller, weeds  and some really tall yellow flowers that look like Black-eyed Susan but aren’t that have come across the fence from the neighbour’s yard.

It’s rather a mess out there but with rain being called for the next seven days…meh, I highly doubt I’ll get to it any time soon.

😀

§ 5 Responses to More Rain and Other Stuff

  • Shady Lady says:

    Wow! So many exciting things happening!! I’m just catching up on my blog reading. I feel so out of touch!!!

  • Sheri says:

    Yep, the fun never stops here! Thanks for the comments.

    I hope you’re soon to catch up on your blog posting too…I miss reading them. 😉

  • Cate says:

    Helllllllooooooo my friend 🙂

    Wow – I’m away for a few days and you go blog up a storm. Where to start? Ok – when does daughter start highschool, and we need to see pics of the hair! Fab news about son getting his act together, and pat on the back to the ever patience mother. Your poem about 40 and hubby made me blush hehe, and yay for getting the house all sorted. Feel free to pop downunder if the renovation urge is still there – we have an enormous amount to do!!

  • Sheri says:

    Cate – Glad you’re back in bloggyland. 😀

    Actually, we’ve had our fill of renovations for this year. It was worth it to opt out of camping this summer but we’re going to take it easy until Spring.

    As for the rest, it’s all just day to day right now, especially until Daughter’s first course arrives.

  • MrCrow says:

    For the right renovation contract-salary we could always relocate 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Rain and Other Stuff at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

