A Blog Award!

September 30, 2010 § 7 Comments


How cool is this?  My dear friend Cate @ Moments of Whimsy has graciously awarded me the “Cherry on Top” Award for “beautiful blogs with that little bit extra”.  I’m tickled as pink as the lovely graphic up there.

The rules are that I answer a question, pass the award along to 6 of my favourite blog writers and of course let them know I did so and then thank the person who gave me the award.

So here goes…

1. Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, would you, and what would it be?

Actually, the answer would have to be no, I wouldn’t go back and change one thing.  There are so many things that I would change if I could go back that limiting myself to just one would be like eating just one potato chip…get real.  😀  Seriously though, my mistakes, missteps and acts of poor judgement have only encouraged me to try harder to avoid regrets and to live my life more aware of how my choices affect others.

2. Pass the other award along to 6 of your favourite blog writers.

Colleen @ The New Unschooler is one of my dearest bloggy friends and it feels like we’ve been in the trenches together forever.  Colleen’s unabashed posts and gripping honesty has made me braver and more willing to share the highs and lows of unschooling teenagers and of life in general.  Moreover, I am always inspired by her fearlessness in traveling the world, opening her heart and home to friends and strangers alike and her generosity…did you know she spearheaded a campaign to build a library in Africa?

Shady Lady @ Unschooling Royalty is an awesome lady whose kindness and thoughtfulness is only surpassed by her adoration of Lizard King and Princess.  Shady writes passionately about being a later in life Mommy, her struggles and her passion for and joy in unschooling her daughter.  I can always rely on Shady for a supportive word, a round of applause or even just a virtual hug when it’s needed most.

Lisa @ What the Heck Was She Thinking is a kindred spirit and she rocks my world.  Lisa is an in your face, in the best way possible, soul who just puts it all out there.  Her posts are honest, hilarious and with just enough cheek to put a smile on anyone’s face.

Dana @ Roscommon Acres is this century’s Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Documenting her large family’s move to the country, Dana writes poignant and riveting posts about the adventures she and her brood face. Writing about everything from scaring off coyotes with a box of cereal to watching part of her land go up in smoke to homeschooling 5 kids (with another on the way) to the loss of a beloved family pet.  I have literally sat on the edge of my seat while reading her blog and I never ceased to be moved and impressed by her writing skills.

Heather @ Swiss Army Wife writes posts that are a grab bag of powerful and eloquently expressed insights about unschooling and living a freer life, interesting things like beekeeping and the adventures there in and gluten-free baking…particularly cupcakes.  Really, go check out her site and tell me you didn’t drool.

Okay, I’m going to beg out at 5 because including Cate (who gave me the award) that pretty much covers my blogging community.

3.  Thank the person who gave you the award.

Cate, you are the big sister I never had, never met and who lives over 8,000 miles away.  There are days when a simple comment from you on my blog can change my entire outlook and make me feel truly cared about.  It’s been one of the greatest pleasures in my life to get to know you, share our commonalities and revel in our differences…though there aren’t too many of the latter.  😉

Thank you so much for this award and moreover, for your friendship…I truly treasure it.

§ 7 Responses to A Blog Award!

  • Heather says:

    Awww. Thank you! That means a lot to me. 🙂 I shall display it proudly!

  • Shady Lady says:

    Awwwww….thanks, Sheri! You say the sweetest things, and at exactly the right moment. I needed a little pick-me-up. 🙂

  • Cate says:

    This is one comment that I’ve been slow to leave as I just don’t have the poetic gift that you have. You choked me up with that last paragraph girl!

    Ditto – tenfold!!

    xxx

  • Colleen says:

    Thanks Sheri!! Now I’m feeling all guilty for not blogging while I’ve been traveling. Now that we’re in one place for a while, though, maybe I will. Plus, since you’re not on Facebook it’s the only way I can show you pictures!! 🙂

  • Dana says:

    Hey, thanks, Sheri! Now to think of some other blogs I wish I had time to read more regularly. 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Colleen – You’re most welcome! Don’t you dare feel guilty about not blogging while you’re traveling. I won’t hear of it. I’ll still be here when you get back so just enjoy yourself…besides, you do have my e-mail address. 😀

    Dana – You’re welcome! I meant every word, your posts have very literally had me on the edge of my seat. Ah, so many blogs, so little time. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Blog Award! at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

