They Tried to Make Me to Go to Facebook, I Said No, No, No

October 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

(If you don’t get the title reference check out Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab” on Youtube and it’ll make sense)

Facebook has come up a lot recently with many of my blog and RL friends and though I did have an account a while ago, I don’t anymore and I prefer it that way.

Still, in a small way I feel like a teenager who is watching all her friends join a really cool group and feeling left out.  The difference being that I’ve already joined that group, quit it and the only thing I’m missing out on now is my friends.

I won’t bore you all with the details of why I quit Facebook but let’s just say that I’m not convinced that their user’s privacy is as important to them as they claim.  In fact, I’m more inclined to believe the opposite is true and they’re making huge money with user information.

Call me paranoid if you want but when you randomly see your child’s picture in an advert for a Facebook add-on on a random website page, you might feel similarly.  Not that Son cared, he thought it was cool…me, not so much cool as “where do these jerks get off using my kid’s profile pic without his express permission”.

That’s the kicker, they didn’t need his permission and it states as much in the user agreement.  You know the gobbledegook that most people don’t bother reading and merely skip over so they can click on the “I AGREE” button and get started.

Okay, so much for me not boring you with the details.

Anyway friends, that’s why you won’t find me on Facebook.  As much as I’d love to participate and be in the loop as to what you’re all up to and see pics of your fabulous selves and your families, I’m afraid I have to say,

“No, no, no.”

I just hope I don’t end up a lonely dinosaur wading through blogland all on my lonesome.  😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading They Tried to Make Me to Go to Facebook, I Said No, No, No at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

