Textbook Anxiety

October 7, 2010 § 2 Comments

Daughter’s first high school course arrived today.  I’d like to say it was an exciting moment filled with promise and hope for the future…I’d really like to say that.  But it would be a total lie.

It was frustrating at best, dismal at worst and the whole experience ended with me apologizing for pushing the issue when she did not want to discuss it.

When the package first arrived she was excited but as soon as she opened it and saw this…


Well, she was obviously disappointed.  The truth is I can’t know exactly what went through her mind unless she tells me.  She didn’t want to talk about it and I kept pressing.  She got angry, I got defensive and voila, a good old fashioned mother daughter row.

Thankfully though, spending the last four years in virtually constant company has taught us both valuable lessons in diffusing each others’ tempers and these bouts don’t last more than a few minutes.  We each go into our separate corners, take deep breaths and come out talking and hugging.

Nonetheless, her anxiety when gazing upon the textbooks became very clear and I’m at a loss as to how to proceed.  Which tells me then the best thing for me to do is nothing and giver her the space, time and respect to come to terms with it on her own.

And more importantly I should not burden her with my textbook anxiety.

§ 2 Responses to Textbook Anxiety

  • Cate says:

    Ok – breathe deep. Now as someone whose kids have used curriculum – here’s a little hint. Try to not let them see the entire pack- it can be too overwhelming, particularly to a visual / spacial learner (like my son). If you can hide the bulk of it away and just take out the very first books that she needs – all while reassuring her that she’s not expected to do or know everything at once. You just take one step at a time in life and in learning and that is what she is about to do.

    Hope this helps – you’ll be fine 🙂

  • Sheri says:

    Thanks Cate. It helps a lot. Especially about taking it piecemeal and not overwhelming ourselves with all at once.

    See, there you go again being all big sister! And I love you even more for it. 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Textbook Anxiety at What's On The Menu Today....

meta

